We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Henry Bell

The Henry Bell
Ranked #19 of 58 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had an excellent meal at The Henry Bell, James Street, Helensburgh. Good value for money, service was first class, and food was excellent. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryandMerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    64
    37
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Choice !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

First time there, we called in for breakfast before venturing further north.
All 8 meals arrived within 15 minutes and were very good value. The vegetarian choice was just what I wanted. The staff friendly the service I do think was one of the best we had on our holiday.
Would go again when in the area !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Third Time Lucky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the third visit we have made to this establishment and once again it was very good. Don't expect novae cuisine but you do normally get very nice meals at a very reasonable price. I saw a local elderly gentleman sitting by himself having a nice meal of haggis, neeps and tatties ,a pint and a read at his paper before leaving to go home. Nice way for someone living themselves to regularly have a cheap meal and blether with someone. I decided to try the haggis (not his!) and the Pulled Pork was enjoyed by the other three members of our party. Drinks are priced very low as is always the case in Wetherspoons Pubs. There is a very wide choice of beers and with such a high turnover is consistently fresh. Service was efficient and friendly. I look forward to visit number four!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
215 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great for a chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with the range of American real ales on offer at under £2 per pint as part of a special event for the end of October. Really different and very unusual especially for Helensburgh, despite its excellent Real Ale Festival each summer. The Henry Bell stands out in the town as an inexpensive pub to drink in with good quality real ales, mostly from local craft breweries.

The staff are lovely, the bar is well run and you never wait long to be served. The food is a bit of a downside though. Kids need to be out of the restaurant part by 8pm and the evening meals are generally bland and not up to much. This is a shame as the breakfast offering of free refills of filter coffee totally hits the mark.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlackCumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mash is deffo not mash”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Was in lastnight for a meal out with some friends where we always go as it has always been a nice place to eat the chicken pasta I should of stuck with but the balmoral chicken looked good on the menu but not on the plate the mash potatoes looked like they had just came out of the pot and stabbed with a fork no butter or salt and a microwave hard stuck together top think they need to learn how to make mash potatoes maybe the riverbank or the other restaurant they own will be the new place to be keeping face as we will not be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saz L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Henry Bell also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Henry Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing