We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive, but nice chips”
Review of The Wee Kelpie

The Wee Kelpie
Ranked #10 of 63 Restaurants in Helensburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Selection of Fish and Chips cooked to order. Gluten free available at all times. Childrens menu and special offers available.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“expensive, but nice chips”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

me and my partner went to the fish shop yesterday. although there was just one person in front of us, we had to wait 15-20mins to receive our food (2 cod 1 chips). the girl at behind the counter must have been having a bad day as she didn't smile once. the chips were lovely and crisp, we really enjoyed them. the fish was good but the batter could have been a bit more crisp for my liking. overall it was nice, but more expensive than your normal fish and chip shop. £2 chips £4.50 for cod.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    60
    38
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fish that actually tasted like it should!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Having heard rave reviews I finally got a chance to try out the Kelpie, on the night I opted for a Haddock supper with a portion of Mushy peas. The handcut chips are akin to wedges & you get a good amount,the peas were a bit sweet for my personal taste but like everything else they were handmade & not out of a carton/tin. The star by far was the fish,opting for Haddock instead of Cod,seved up quite a decent sized fillet & finally a fish that tastied of fish! Too often these days you get a Fish supper with absolutely no flavour & you could be eating any species.I will be returning to try the Cod.
As an aside one of my party had the black pudding & raved about how moist & tasty it was.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING !!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The fish supper i just had at the wee kelpie was the best fish supper ever !!! you could sell that in some fancy restaurants in glasgow !! AMAZING !!! I will be back !!!!! ;-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Not your average "chippie"!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This wee gem on the Helensburgh riverfront is a super example of what a fish and chip shop can be if it is not catering to the post pub crowd. Limited opening hours and a small selection of locally sourced seafood teamed with the special batter make for a real treat. I have just returned from three weeks in Helensburgh so had the pleasure of eating a takeaway from the Wee Kelpie on two occasions. First time was cod and chips and I have never tasted better; flaky, milky fish in a crunchy batter could not have been better. The second visit was to introduce my old Ma to scallops and she was suitably impressed. Large, meaty but melt in the mouth scallops in a light batter with lemon wedge and hand cut chips. Delicious.

The prices are above a "normal" chippie of course but you really do get what you pay for. Monkfish, haddock, calimeri, black pudding? Everything on the menu is locally sourced and the difference between their chips and the usual soggy ones is amazing (though I do like a soggy sausage supper on occasion!).

All in all this is a very special wee takeaway; on the two occasions I visited it was always busy so hopefully lots of people will visit to taste the difference.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shimmin2robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in ages”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Recommended by another seafood lover the Wee Kelpie did not disappoint. Luckily we arrived at a quiet moment and were served within 15 minutes (queues formed as soon as we had ordered). This very small shop would appear to have been an annex to a now closed restaurant and is perhaps a little on the cramped side, given its evident popularity with the folk of Helensburgh. The staff on our visit were two cheery chaps obviously enjoying the happy faces of their customers and the good feeling that a job done well can imbue. The menu is as you would expect however the selection of whitefish is good; haddock, cod, monkfish and halibut. There is also calamari, scallops, misto fritto and black pudding? A cod supper is reasonable at £6 and a little more for halibut etc. The fish itself is a good portion and quite chunky, cooked to perfection as order placed, therefore there is none of the usual stewing you will find in regular chippies. (The downside is the wait) The fish was accompanied by some of the very finest chips. The triple cooking process produces a crispy skin and fluffy centre. A splash of vinegar and a dusting of salt and you're in fish and chip heaven. If you hit on decent weather there are a number of benches along the promenade outside the Kelpie, giving you a seaview..These little finds are very rewarding, often enough to consider keeping them secret. However on this occasion I think the folk at the Wee Kelpie deserve every praise. I just hope we manage to avoid the queues next time which will be soon..

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanMcCauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wee Kelpie also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Wee Kelpie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing