We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mira Mare

Mira Mare
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

A marvellous little family-run restaurant, which serves extremely good quality food in a welcoming and friendly manner. I have been visiting for years, and have never been disappointed. Lunch is very good, but dinner is truly wonderful! Best to book, as the restaurant is small - only wish it was nearer to where I now live!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Greebo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    31
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
helensburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our London guest was VERY impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Family run Italian Bistro with an atmosphere honed to a fine state by decades of contact with locals who become friends - it cannot be helped, the owners are just NICE. They seem to share their gentle friendly manners with strangers too!

Watch out, some of the food can be quite rich but all of it is delicious and beautifully prepared/presented. Lunch can be more simple and is modest in price

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank scottHelensburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really quite good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having read some of the reviews decided to give Mira Mare a try. First impressions are not the best - you do feel that you are back in the 70's! Don't let the decor put you off as the food is really quite good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pseuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Personal service brings the mark up to 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Family owned and tried and tested menu. Specials are a feature and the table visit from the owner / chef shows they care. Prices are not cheap but everything is freshly cooked by the proprietor. I like the shellfish soup starter flambéed with brandy. Lunch time menu represents excellent value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank icecoldinalex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds,UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous food,strange restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We went based on food reviews on TA and were not disappointed,portions are plentiful and I ate the best tagliatelle marinara I have ever had(and I've had many!). It was like stepping back into the 1970s inside but everything was spotlessly clean and we were treated very courteously and it was nice to meet the owner/ chef who seemed genuinely concerned that we were enjoying his food,and it was lovely to see how he greeted his regulars like friends. Could do with bringing up to date a little,oh,and the wine was a little steeply priced and slightly retro in choice. But again,food was fab.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gladysleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mira Mare also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Mira Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing