We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best black pudding tasted in a long time - home baking best in area.”
Review of Craigard Tearoom

Craigard Tearoom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best black pudding tasted in a long time - home baking best in area.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch at the Craigard today and chose the all day breakfast priced at £4.95 which isnt bad value for 2 eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Mushroom, Potatoe Scone, Black Pudding, Toast. Although some beans wouldnt have went a miss but the breakfast was brill esp the black pudding which was of a quality rarely tasted in cafes now. Thought I would try the homemade meringue to finish off with my coffee and it didnt disappoint. Service was pleasant and efficient. Would recommend for a quick hearty lunch. Will definately return if im in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cammy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    18
    9
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great little spot for lunch”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Visited whilst waiting to go to hill house. From the outside looked more enticing than some of the cafes in the area and inside worked for us too. I like the tradtional ( ie tartan) theme and homely atmosphere. Staff were friendly and pace of service was good. My husband had the haggis tattles and heaps which he enjoyed and I had macaroni cheese. This came with salad and although the pasta could have been cooked slightly less for my personal taste the sauce was good and I enjoyed the dish. Nice to find some real home cooking instead of all the predictability of the cafe chains. Helping to generous to allow room to try the cakes but they looked good and the tea was a good cuppa! Would go back if in the area gain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie-121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“More of a Tea Rooms than a Restaurant”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If other business's in Helensburgh followed this example for presentation,cleanliness and freshness of food they could not go wrong. Found as we wandered around whilst waiting for Hill House to Open. So glad we found you ,thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fluzyflapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This little gem is just opposite Helensburgh Station and serves the best breakfast for miles around. We try to drop in when in the area and always enjoy what's on offer. The home baking really is home made and is excellent. Try the scones with jam. First class.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A well established wee Gem”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First time in John Logie Baird Country and the weather was glorious .We stopped off at this wee place as it looked clean and welcoming from the outside.Inside was an Alladins cave of Scottish memorabilia and tourism information -a new sideline we were told . The cakes dragged my girlfriend in here though as the huge display fridge taking up the entire window just screamed at her apparently.These Cakes did not disappoint and tasted better than they looked and they looked amazing!! We had two huge Coke floats and cake cake cake outside in the alfresco table on the high street - simply devine .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigard Tearoom also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Craigard Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing