We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic, no frills accomodation”
Review of Killin Cottage B&B

Killin Cottage B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helensburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killin Cottage B&B
Ranked #10 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed in the blue room, quite small,(no TV). The en-suite, again very small, poor shower, no heating.
The cooked breakfast was adequate but the dining room was cold. the log fire was unlit, perhaps because we were the only guests staying.
The price was almost 'haggled' as the owner couldn't remember how much she said she would be charging. (she doesn't answer emails).
No off street parking.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derby_ram_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillinCottage, Owner at Killin Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

I'm sorry to read this couple did not enjoy their stay. The blue room is rather small compared to the others, however it is a comfortable size for a short stay. The compact shower room is advertised as such. I'm surprised to read that the shower was poor and the room cold, nothing that couldn't have been rectified with a simple knock on my door and a quick chat if my explanation of how to use the shower or adjust the central heating radiator wasn't satisfactory. All beds benefit from a superior quality memory foam mattress topper. Having the fire going doesn't depend on the guests, but rather if I have wood available or not. I do have off street parking. None of my guest rooms have TVs, which is public knowledge, however I do have a guest lounge with TV (and a log fire). As of March 2011 there are antenna cables to all rooms, and TVs have been and will be put in gradually as and when I can afford them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2009

I decided at short notice to stop off in Helensburgh instead of travelling straight home from further north in Scotland. I hadn't booked in advance, just turned up at the Tourist Office and they booked me in to Killin Cottage. I found that it was in a very convenient location - you could park the car there and it was only a short walk to the centre of Helensburgh with shops, cafes and pubs. The room was clean and comfortable; it wasn't ensuite but had a private bathroom with bath robes provided. There was a sitting room downstairs which guests could use which is also where breakfast was served. Overall I was very happy with my stay, especially as it was such a last minute arrangement and I would certainly stay there again if I was passing through Helensburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmystockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Killin Cottage has three well-equipped bedrooms, home-baked bread for the packed lunch, excellent breakfast, lovely family atmosphere (the owner's children are sweet), a real wood fire, near to the station and pier, and useful advice. All at a good price. What more could you want.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank Briquenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank titti73_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ayayoshiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank yogurthine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pouti_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helensburgh hotels
3.9 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
138 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 4 in Garelochhead
51 reviews
5.3 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Three Lochs Hostel
Three Lochs Hostel
#1 of 1 in Garelochhead
12 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ardencaple Hotel
Ardencaple Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rhu
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Cottage B&B

Address: 10 Lomond Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 7PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range: $80 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional cottage close to town centre, beach and public transport. Gateway to Loch Lomond and the Highlands. Secure, child friendly environment. Off-street parking. Children's play area both indoors and outdoors. On site entertainment facilities. Fresh, home-made bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killin Cottage B&B Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing