We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sinclair House Revisited”
Review of Sinclair House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helensburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sinclair House B&B
Ranked #5 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at Sinclair House and feel that in itself is a recommendation. When looking for a bed and breakfast I hope for cleanliness, comfort, warmth, good food, pleasant hosts, parking facilities and good location. Sinclair House has all that in abundance. I love being sure I will be happy with accommodation and as I am visiting Helensburgh often at the moment Sinclair House is always my first choice. There has been a lot of thought given to guest comfort with lots of extras supplied from elastoplast to DVD players and selection of DVD's. I will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on ground floor and room 3 and 4 are upstairs.Room 1 has bath over shower and Room 4 has s...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Sinclair House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just stayed for a couple of days on arrival we completed a breakfast menu card we did not realise this was for both days, no offer was made was we happy to have the same again it was just brought out, I feel all guest should be treated the same we was not others was offered would you like anything else we were not, if you ask one guest this should be the same to the rest, Double bed small size.
On leaving we did not have a pleasant depart no good by, have you enjoyed your stay, all Ian said to both myself and husband don't forget trip advisor.
Politeness cost nothing a friendly good buy would of been nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubymilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadgetmadman, Owner at Sinclair House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

I’m ever so sorry that you felt that breakfast was not what you wanted on the second day – but we do state on the breakfast chit and also in the welcome folder that we serve the same breakfast on subsequent mornings if we don’t hear otherwise. We also state that there are spare chits you can fill in in the dining room or there are also details that you can use the intercom to change your order up to 30 minutes before the time you determined that you would like breakfast. We do normally point this out but in this case it must have been omitted. We do also like to say cheerio to our guests but in some instances we are not on hand when guests leave and this appears to have been the case this time – our sincere apologies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fortunately, a last minute cancellation meant there was a room available for us at short notice.

The room (room 2) was spacious, beautifully furnished and had the benefit of an extra private sitting room attached.

The thing that sets this place apart were the little extras included such as a laptop with internet access in the room, a smart TV, snacks and bottled water in the fridge, umbrellas, and even sticking plasters for my blisters after a long morning run in the surrounding hills.

The breakfast was delicious, generously proportioned and served with great efficiency in the well-appointed dining room.

We would definitely recommend Sinclair House to anyone looking for a well-priced B&B in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomsybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 weeks in this wonderful B&B in June of this year. The accomodations are superb. All the rooms have laptops and access to the internet which eliminates the need to carry your own personal laptop. All the rooms have refrigerators and are well appointed. The breakfast selection is great and well prepared. The owners (Iain and Ishbel ) are well traveled and very helpful and knowledgeable about travel and sites within Scotland. We can't say enough about how enjoyable our stay was. We are planning our next trip and definitely will be staying at this B&B again in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful but if you would like a little more room, room 2 has a separate sitting...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

One of the best places that we have ever stayed. Heavenly mattress to sleep on and run like a tight ship. The food cooked to perfection and the way you like. All the technical gadgets you would need on your stay. Good location near town and harbour front. Should be a five star and would certainly stay here rather than a hotel with all the attention to detail. Miss this and you miss out.

Room Tip: I think ours (room1) had the only bath and could only use this after 9.30 which was perfect for me a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moohon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A great place to stay. Our room was immaculate and included a laptop for our use, a very comfortable bed, a fridge and excellent lighting for reading. A good choice for breakfast - even the eggs are cooked to your preference. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

After a warm and friendly welcome we were shown around our well presented rooms and were asked to provide breakfast instruction for our stay. Advice on the local amenities was succinctly provided. Breakfast was punctual and perfectly presented setting us up for our day. Nothing could be faulted, please try it for yourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevingilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helensburgh hotels
2.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
3.8 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ardencaple Hotel
Ardencaple Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rhu
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmillig House
Balmillig House
#2 of 21 in Helensburgh
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclair House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclair House B&B

Address: 91/93 Sinclair Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8TR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range: $97 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinclair House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinclair House is a small 4 bedroom Bed & Breakfast located on the edge of the town centre with just a short walk to all the town's amenities. With all services free, we hope you will find the car park, internet access, on-line laptop, Blu-ray player, 32” LCD TV, fridge, clock radio with iPod/iPhone dock and that fact that all our rooms have en-suite facilities to your liking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sinclair House B&B Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing