We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with thoughtful touches”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helensburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shiloh Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B with thoughtful touches”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent two nights here, taking the train from Helensburgh Upper to Mallaig for the day. From our first phone call until our departure, Sandy was friendly and very helpful. She was able to provide my parents with a ground floor bedroom and walk in shower, and the rooms were comfortable and very well appointed. Breakfasts were excellent, and a very good variety on the menu. We were so well looked after, with Sandy taking time to organise restaurants and information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athrawes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
84
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just spent our 4th annual week at the Shiloh B & B.
The owners, Sandy & Tom, were as caring and friendly as at our first stay 4 years ago.
The hardest part of the day is choosing what to have for breakfast, it is always freshly cooked to taste.
Our room had once again been freshly decorated. The shower was spotless, as was the rest of the room. As usual there was the coffee, assortment of teas, chockies and bickies, not to forget the red rose.
One could go on and on and on about how good it is, but as far as we are concerned there is only one place to stay in Helensburgh and that is at SHILOH.
S & A

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the same room so cannot comment on the other rooms, but looking in, they al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreblaGravesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Sandy is a lovely, caring person and staying in her B&B is like being at home, only better. Our room had fresh flowers, sweeties and a selection of coffees and teas. When she noticed that I had purchased some fruit tea (to take home with me), Sandy made sure to have fruit teas added to the selection in our room. Our kingsize bed was comfy and our breakfasts were yummy, with the best porridge I have ever had. And the scrambled eggs..........heaven on a plate! We spent a lovely, relaxing week with Sandy and Tom and would go back in a heartbeat. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maplemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoganas, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was quite a average B&B, no better or worse than any we have stayed in. The room and beds were OK. The breakfast was the ordinary scottish one and we actually got a bowl of fresh fruit for a change. The B&B is situated about 10 minutes walk from the center of Helensburgh. And I must say that Helensburgh isn't a place that we would come back to, really grey and dull.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biirgitta_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh_B_and_B, Owner at Shiloh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hello Biirgtta,

Sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Helensburgh.

We pride ourselves for giving good service and we believe the comments on tripadvisor reflect our high standard.

As you can see on other reviews on tripadvisor we get a lot of complements for our breakfasts. We try and use the best Scottish ingredients. We get our sausages from an award winning butcher, free range eggs are from a local farm and we offer Dornoch black pudding which we believe is the best Scottish black pudding.

As well as the full cooked Scottish breakfast we offer Eggs Benedict, scrambled eggs with Scottish smoked salmon and various other breakfast options. Apart from our breakfast menu we also offer a vegetarian and vegan breakfast menus.

Regards
Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Watch out all B & B's in the area this B&B is truly marvelous! Attention to detail is superb with chocolates in your bedroom and a fridge for anything you need to keep cool. Fresh fruit salad with your breakfast and an amazing breakfast choice too. Not to mention the huge really comfy bed. Brilliant place to stay, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petunia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay with Sandy and Tom (Owners) to welcome my son back from an 8 month deployment. Shiloh is a 10 minute drive from the Naval Base at Faslane. We were welcomed with so much warmth by Sandy, it was more like visiting a long lost friend! The rooms were modern, fresh, clean, and had everything one could ask for.. little extra's like fresh flowers and sweeties adding a lovely personal touch. Breakfast, now that is where Sandy and Tom come into their own.. I have travelled all over the world and their's without doubt is the best I have had.. fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, full fry up, salmon and the best porridge you will ever have! the list goes on, all perfectly cooked and served with a smile. We will definitely be returning again and again.. you will not find better. If Carlsberg made b and b's they would have made Shiloh! Keep up the good work guys, see you soon. Allie, Josh, Dan and 'mum' xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annonymous_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Super place to stay if visiting Helensburgh area. Everything was perfect. So glad we were able to stay here. Great breakfast will set you up for the day. If you are looking for somewhere then look no further!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireTelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
2.7 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
16.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Balmillig House
Balmillig House
#2 of 21 in Helensburgh
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiloh Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiloh Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shiloh Bed & Breakfast
Address: 201 East Clyde Street | Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 7AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiloh, close to Helensburgh town centre, has three en-suite bedrooms; one with a king size bed and two twin-bedded rooms that can be converted to super king size on request. Each room is equipped with radio/cd alarm, freeview LCD TV, free WiFi as well as a hospitality tray and hair drier.We have a downstairs ensuite bedroom,with walk in shower,may be suitable for those with mobility issues. We are close to Faslane Naval base and short walk into town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shiloh Bed & Breakfast Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing