We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable Athmosphere”
Review of Gartmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gartmore House
Ranked #3 of 4 Gartmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tornesch, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unbeatable Athmosphere”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best choices we ever made - and this is mainly due to the
athmosphere of the place. This was our first time in Scotland and we
just looked for a cheap and decent plave to stay near Loch Lomond.
This we found - and so much more. We got a real warm welcome from the
staff, we felt like coming for a private invitation. Well, the lovely
Lobby added to this feeling as it looks like a living room from the
18th century. We felt instantly drawn back in time - we could have
been in one of those Jane Austen films. Wonderful. Horses were
missing, though ;-). The rooms are large, furnished in style but
simple. The bed was perfect with lots of pillows. We had a wonderful
view to the surrounding landscape - no other houses or streets in
sight, just a large number of sheep. This was also the only sound we
heard, meeh-meeh. Will not forget this. The bathroom was large but
was very basic and needed renovation, this is the only negative
comment I can make. No wifi in rooms (this adds to the 18th century
feeling) but there is free wifi in the Lobby. Breakfast was ok if you
are Scot (full scottish breakfast with black pudding, sausage, bacon,
beans, mushroms etc), for German standards it is a bit heavy. Well -
this added to the feeling we so enjoyed.

In short: Perfect place for a typical holiday, good value, very
friendly staff and a perfect lobby. Only 4 points because the place
needs renovation in bathroom and also the exteriour. We would come
back anytime. And thanks to the lovely staff.

Room Tip: We had a room to the garden, fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr.Floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    76
    34
    17
    20
See reviews for
33
109
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a stunning setting to have a peaceful break. We got and excellent deal for DBB and what a room, it had 4 single beds and so spacious you could have had a dance in it. The interior of the house could do with a bit of TLC but don't let that deter you from making a visit as the staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. Will definitely be visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnYvonneMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked a nights stay on a DBB basis. The property is in dire need of refurbishment with the exterior letting the whole place down. The rooms are spacious and have quality furnishings but again they e showing wear and tear. The rooms were spotlessly clean though.
Food was excellent quality and they have a well stocked bar and quality wine list. Service was first class and all the staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Room 206 has breath taking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFramed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
835 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had the good fortune to book in last night at the Hotel set in Mature grounds 2 minutes from Aberfoyle 1st impressions are of a slightly shabby exterior but do not be put off the entrance hall is one of the most beautiful I have seen for a long time opening into a lovely reception area . set on 3 floors with dining room downstairs with a small bar . we had a room on the top floor served by a small lift if you have a problem with stairs , moderate bedroom ,no telly (we do not go on holiday to watch one anyway) toilet with shower plenty of pressure and hot water ,teasmade in the room. The whole place has a faded grandeur about it and is run by a non profit making charitable trust Difficult to see them being able to spend the money to do it up .I think it will be stuck in a time warp for a long time (I mean that in a nice way ) It certainly has an attraction and will probably find us back there in the future . Bed on the hard side ,Dining Menu with good choices and an excellent buffet Breakfast.staff were very friendly and helpful I can see this well used by walking groups and hill climbers. The views are spectacular with the Wallace monument in the distance 20 miles away

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigluscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Gartmore house is the most magical place I've been. A stunning setting, delicious food, kind and friendly staff and the best room I've had! I was there on a harp course and I've never forgotten it. My week was literally like being in a fairytale! I have absolutely no criticism whatsoever and I would recommend it to anyone. I am desperate to go back and miss it so much!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpist11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We travelled to this place on the 22nd June 2013.

The mansion is very old and run down on the outside and the grassy terraces can do with a good old tidy up and it's such a shame as it's got beautiful scenic views.

The grounds are amazing, beautiful trees of all varieties.

On arrival we were impressed by the grandness and inside didn't disappoint. I was eager to read about the history of the house and it didn't disappoint either, I love big houses.0000

Our room was basic clean and tidy, a cute wee room, but that's all we wanted. The shower was piping hot even on the lowest setting I could get.

The Sea Kelp products in the bathroom were delightful and smelt lovely.

Great tea and coffee, and gorgeous mints on a small plate were delicious.

So peaceful, definitely what we came for.

Friendly staff.

Clean and tidy.

Thank you for a delightful weekend, highly recommend to get away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Got this on Itson deal dinner, bed and breakfast. What a breathtaking location. The building itself needs some love and did look run down.

Once inside the place was fresh and clean . receptionist was very welcoming and explained everything well.The room was a bit old fashioned but was very clean.just needs a lick of paint.Shower was great and powerful.

Dinner was exceptional and the restaurant had a lovely relaxed feel.It was also here breakfast was served and once again did not disappoint, neither did the staff who were fantastic! !!!.

I would go back and try some of the wonderful walks around.All in exceptional value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1210Paisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.5 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartmore House

Property: Gartmore House
Address: 1 Gartmore, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gartmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Gartmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartmore House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing