We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quiet break”
Review of Gartmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gartmore House
Ranked #3 of 4 Gartmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Gartmore House and once again thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay. The staff even recognised us from before and made us feel very welcome. The evening meal was excellent, we started with pate, oatcakes and salad and chutney, then we upgraded to the steak with chips and tomato and garlic butter, then we had a cheeseboard. The meal was very appetising and presented very well. Only down side was it was too much for us but that is not a complaint. Our room was massive with 4 beds in it with chairs, wardrobes and tables and dressing table which was extremely clean. Kettle with complementary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, biscuits and mints in room also. Bath with shower was excellent with plenty of towels and hot water. Heating in room was also excellent. Bar prices are not too expensive especially being a hotel. The staff in the hotel were very courteous and friendly with special thanks to Catherine and Tamika in reception, Anne and Katy in the Dining Room and not forgetting Alistair, the night porter who was a star and a funny guy. Tea and Coffee was left in reception at 9pm for anyone who wanted a cuppa before bed. Almost forgot to mention the female Chef that we did not meet but her food was excellent.
If you want a noisy place with loud music and entertainment this is not for you. But if you want a quiet relaxing break with no traffic noise and when outside only hear sheep, birds and see the occasional Deer and plenty of Rabbits, this is for you. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 241 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Just sitting here in reception after having one of the best steaks ive ever tasted,we were here in february and loved it so much we wanted to comeback and were not disappointed with it yet again,the waitress anne in the dining hall was excellent and could not have done enough for us thank you anne xx the room was brilliant overlooking the field to theback very quiet room ,the raception staff were also brilliant ,we locked ourself out of our room and she was up in a second to helpus ,thankyou to gary,diane and colin for gettingus ourfirst stay here

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at the hotel 2012 with my husband using a Groupon deal and unfortunately have to disagree with most reviewers about it. On arrival we were given a key and directed to our room. We climbed the creaky threadbare stairs and found the room we were allocated was not what we requested, so we went back to reception and were advised to take our wine (which was in the first room) with us and were given a different key and further directions to locate a second room. We climbed the stairs again only to find the room we had been directed to was not made up,the bed was unmade and dirty dishes and towels lying around. We made our way back to reception (free bottle of wine in tow) and was given a third key and further directions. I was disappointed at the lack of help or concern from the staff as we were offered no help to carry our luggage up the stairs three times when trying to resolve the room issue. I personally found the hotel to be old, cold, isolated and quite creepy, however none of these things phased my husband. The food was excellent, piping hot, tasty and well presented and the room was comfortable despite being cold. As the hotel is very isolated there was nothing to do unless you like to walk in the country or take scenic pictures. I would not go back to Gartmore House as It is too isolated and quiet for me. Sorry Gartmore

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcmercslk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This could have so much potential to do better! Our room was really cold and we could not get a decent sleep,The heating turns itself off making the pipes really rattly. Then woke up early by noises outside - first day by a tractor, and second day by coaches for the children staying across the way. - maybe you can request the rooms on the other side, which i hear also has a nicer view. There is no tv (or it's well hidden) or any decent books, and no wifi, unless at reception, so I suggest you bring your own entertainment. The only thing I can say is really good is the food, that I must say was faultless. Also the staff are all pleasant and friendly. It is set very well, with a nice walk to Aberfoyle, which I recommend. I wouldnt really choose to stay here again though.

Room Tip: Do not get one facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malibu-jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent an overnight voucher offer here and was delighted with the hotel. What a lovely house, full of historical interest. Fantastic views, beautiful surroundings and wonderful staff. Meals were first class. Nice wee bar for a quiet refreshment, amazing library and best of all only one tv in the place. Wonderful as a 'get away from it all'. Will definately be going again when need a tranquil break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sal260649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed last Friday very impressive house but needing some tlc had been a catholic retreat and school but was closed for twenty years now run by a charitable trust , room was fine not the largest but okay however no TV retired to lounge for drink and watch news but failed to find either it has many impressive reception rooms and could be made really swish, the meal at night was alright and they did have wine list with reasonable prices , the breakfast next morning was excellent with all local produce the bangers were largest I have ever come across , all in all we got this as a deal and good value in lovely part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Although a 17th century mansion it is been really well preserved and very homely. We have never been in a hotel with such friendly staff. Nothing is a problem to them. An ideal chillout location with plenty of rooms to sit in comfort. Beautiful log fire in the library which is very warm. We were allocated a massive family room with 4 beds and spectacular views over the estate. Comfiest beds we have ever slept in. Evening meal and Breakfast were both excellent, and waiting staff were absolutely fabulous. We were going to go to the local pub but the weather was not too good so decided to stay in Hotel and glad we did, as again bar staff were fantastic. Although a small bar, the prices were very reasonable. We expected to pay a lot more. We would highly recommend a visit and we will be returning again. Free wifi at reception also.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
19.5 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartmore House

Address: 1 Gartmore, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gartmore
Price Range: $65 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gartmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartmore House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing