We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gartmore House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
91
85
38
23
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
85
38
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle of winelog fireold buildingstately homesmall barcooked breakfastevening mealfamily roomvoucher dealcharitable trusttop floorcomfortable bedsan overnight staybiscuitsamazing viewsstaff were excellentlick of paint
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 258 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from the annual Women's Weekend Conference. I have been coming here for the past 14 years and absolutely love the place. The house is gorgeous with beautiful views across stunning countryside and huge log fires in the winter. The staff are exceptional - very helpful, friendly and willing to go out of their way to make one's stay a success. The food is terrific - freshly cooked, local produce and imaginative dishes presented. Sometimes the service is a bit slow but I was with a big group and the waiters were abviously local young people brought in to help at our conference.
The rooms are clean, with fresh linen, soft fluffy towels and lovely toiletries provided. But this is not a mainstream hotel and there are no TVs in the rooms (or anywhere at all) but who needs it when in a place like this! There is a phone with built in radio alarm and a tray with kettle and coffee/tea etc which is good. My only slight grumble this time was the obvious need for repainting and brightening up - my room had frayed curtains and a hole in the carpet and the lighting was very dim (low energy bulbs of the lowest wattage) and I could not see properly to read in bed. Also the shower was a disappointment - just a trickle of hot water......
Overall this is an ideal getaway place for those who enjoy the outdoors, and like real peace and quiet. It is also an ideal venue for groups.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best views!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Gartmore. The staff were so friendly and helpful in all departments. The view from our room was a picture, although originally we were allocated a front facing room. There was no problem when we asked for a rear facing room. Will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back have a magnificent outlook
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Reading previous reviews the Gartmore can look like a mixed bag, we stayed one night, like many others on a deal, while we agree with some of the comments about the building being tired it does ooze character and charm.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, great location, great views from our room, with a relaxed atmosphere.

Clean rooms, nice fluffy towels, plenty toiletries and at the end of the day who need TV and wifi, when your chilling in the countryside.

On the negative side the food was a let down, dinner was ok, but definitely cooked then reheated before serving. The breakfast was poor.

The standard of food was a shame because overall we warmed to the place and I think some of the very negative reviews have been unfair.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Stirling, the best bet, great views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesGlasgow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

sadly ..i have to say , comments from Lori are right...staff work hard, and are very nice...but, it's a dump..needs loads of money spent on it..and i mean LOADS.....wine that came with deal....was awful...8%...food was so so...breakfast was better...but if you are going to accept folk for holiday breaks....please have a bar.....small hatch serving very overpriced poor selection of drink....dreadful.....never again.......and that's sad as could be great place...sorry for poor review..but honest...

Room Tip: not one i think...we had a window that didn't close////
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flecky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked for 2 nights and stayed only one- even although we'd bought 2 DBB vouchers online. Such a beautiful building in lovely surroundings but so desperately needing renovated and refurbished. Hotel Inspector would have a field Reading material in bedroom was Church of Scotland magazines and the free bottle of wine was barely more than juice. Craft shop down stairs sold all religious wooden items - fish candle holders, wooden crosses etc. and we were ousted out the library by the Bible Study group! Felt like we were on Christian Boot Camp. Oh, and to top it all - no TV or wireless connection in our bedrooms! One good point - friendly service from hard working waitresses

Room Tip: Don't think you'll find a good room in this hostel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lori1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews