We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gartmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gartmore House
Ranked #3 of 4 Gartmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Gartmore. The staff were so friendly and helpful in all departments. The view from our room was a picture, although originally we were allocated a front facing room. There was no problem when we asked for a rear facing room. Will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back have a magnificent outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    76
    33
    15
    20
See reviews for
32
108
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Reading previous reviews the Gartmore can look like a mixed bag, we stayed one night, like many others on a deal, while we agree with some of the comments about the building being tired it does ooze character and charm.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, great location, great views from our room, with a relaxed atmosphere.

Clean rooms, nice fluffy towels, plenty toiletries and at the end of the day who need TV and wifi, when your chilling in the countryside.

On the negative side the food was a let down, dinner was ok, but definitely cooked then reheated before serving. The breakfast was poor.

The standard of food was a shame because overall we warmed to the place and I think some of the very negative reviews have been unfair.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Stirling, the best bet, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesGlasgow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

sadly ..i have to say , comments from Lori are right...staff work hard, and are very nice...but, it's a dump..needs loads of money spent on it..and i mean LOADS.....wine that came with deal....was awful...8%...food was so so...breakfast was better...but if you are going to accept folk for holiday breaks....please have a bar.....small hatch serving very overpriced poor selection of drink....dreadful.....never again.......and that's sad as could be great place...sorry for poor review..but honest...

Room Tip: not one i think...we had a window that didn't close////
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flecky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked for 2 nights and stayed only one- even although we'd bought 2 DBB vouchers online. Such a beautiful building in lovely surroundings but so desperately needing renovated and refurbished. Hotel Inspector would have a field Reading material in bedroom was Church of Scotland magazines and the free bottle of wine was barely more than juice. Craft shop down stairs sold all religious wooden items - fish candle holders, wooden crosses etc. and we were ousted out the library by the Bible Study group! Felt like we were on Christian Boot Camp. Oh, and to top it all - no TV or wireless connection in our bedrooms! One good point - friendly service from hard working waitresses

Room Tip: Don't think you'll find a good room in this hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went for my dad's 60th birthday. There was 16 of us all ages, and we had a wonderful time.Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Meals were good and rooms were comfortable and plenty of space even though we had a double bed and three singles in our room.Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We also stayed here on a deal and found it to be very good value for money. As far as I can tell, the hotel doesn't charge very high rates in general anyway. I believe the kitchen and restaurant is a new addition and I think it's a good one - our food was very nice indeed. Regarding the hotel in general, it is a little run down, but has a certain charm because of this and I quite liked it. The grounds are certainly lovely. Our room didn't have a view which I was a little disappointed about, but it was nicely decorated in keeping with the decor of the hotel in general, the bed was comfy and the shower was surprisingly very good. So, don't expect new furniture, be prepared for things to be a little 'distressed', but I think the hotel appreciates these things and this is why the rates are so reasonable. All the staff were also very friendly and helpful. Altogether a pleasant stay in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Get a request in early if you'd like a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed on a deal overnight in a family room. Although the room was clean it looked and felt like a youth hostel. We had a recycled curtain as a bed throw and the chairs were ready for the skip. Window was covered in birds poo so although we had a good view it was off putting. Food in dining room was slow ,cold and to be honest pretty foul. Everything tasted like it had been in a hostess trolley for a couple of hours. Found a hair in my cake which sickened me and the coffee serves was transparent like dish water. Breakfast was better and was a self service affair. I really wanted to come home but my husband found the place unusual and we stayed the night. There is no doubt the setting is grand but its need major refurbishment.Check out is 10am and it is quite off putting to have the cleaner outside your door from 9ish waiting for you to leave. I couldn't get away quite enough anyway and no matter the deal would never ever want to return. I found the hotel depressing and run down.

Room Tip: Room facing the back not a family room though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annmarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.5 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartmore House

Property: Gartmore House
Address: GARTMORE 1, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gartmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Gartmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartmore House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing