We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we didn't pay more.”
Review of Gartmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gartmore House
Ranked #3 of 4 Gartmore B&B and Inns
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Glad we didn't pay more.”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at the Gartmore last week on a "deal". Bed, breakfast and dinner. The food saved the experience, only just.
Our room was very small , with one chair which was ready for the skip. Broken and unsafe.
Very clean room which was a blessing.
No TV, but we knew this so not an issue.
Dinner was very nice, my husband had the Lamb which he said was quite dry. We did see other folk with it and it looked lovel so perhaps he got the last in the pot !!
My fish was great.
Bar , a joke, no where to sit.
I think this could be a lovely hotel with some money and time spent on it.
I would have been upset if we had paid full price but the food was worth the money we did pay.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evangeline44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    78
    35
    21
    20
See reviews for
36
110
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed one night on a deal and as others have said it needs a fortune spent on it to bring it back to its original state. But our room was spotless with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. The staff very friendly and helpful. Had to choose from a set menu what we wanted for our evening meal when we arrived. Also our breakfast time and what we wanted for the next morning. This may put some people off but you have to appreciate that it cuts down their costs if they know in advance what they are cooking and when staff are needed in the dining room. Food was very good, well presented and plenty of it. Wine prices and bar prices very reasonable.

Didn't miss a TV as we sat in a lovely big room in front of a roaring log fire. A relaxing stay and would have like to wander round the massive grounds but it was raining heavily so hope to do that if we return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nocera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent 1 night at Gartmore House. It was a daily deal and it was great value for money. We had dinner, bed and breakfast and a bottle of wine on arrival. The room was a bit small and was like my Grans parlour. Very old fashioned, but very homely and spotlessly clean. The reception staff were very friendly, as were the staff in the restaurant.
We had a 3 course meal as part of the deal, and paid £6 extra per person for the steak. It was well worth it. The food was not fancy, but very enjoyable. The price of the wine was very reasonable.
There was no TV in the room and the WI-Fi that was meant to work in the reception area did not work. The 3G on my phone did not operate either. However, if you want away from everything this is a great place to visit. It's not a modern hotel, but the library/lounge that we spent 2 hours in was so tranquil, with wonderful views.
All in all, a different place to stay. Would go back, but would take the laptop to watch a DVD after a very nice dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking towards Stirling. Not the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnREdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Such a beautiful 1700s mansion desperately in need of loads of money and tlc to turn it back into the sensation it deserves to be. If privately owned and dont have the kind of money it needs then they should sell it to people who can before its too late. Staff were friendly, dinner was very good but bedroom was more like a hostel room than a hotel bedroom. Sorry Gartmore but I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

An amazing majestic house with loads of interesting history but needs some TLC. We received a very pleasant welcome and directed to a superlarge very clean room with wine on chill, usual hot drinks facility and ample toiletries in the en-suite.PP The views were spectacular. We spent part afternoon in Aberfoyle just 10minutes away and explored the picturesque surrounding areas. Our evening meal was excellent. We visited the village pub, a short walk away, for a drink and were treated like one of the locals ,a very warm welcome indeed.Slept very well in a comfy king size bed. Breakfast choice was impressive and waiter Joe was again most pleasant and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and whilst the House is off the beaten track it is a marvellous base for surrounding visits of interest as we left heading to Callendar and beyond.Perfect relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear have panoramic views. You can see the Wallace Monument 25 miles away at Stirling on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

as everyone else has said, gartmore house is indeed in need of some modernisation and TLC!
my husband and i stayed there and were very impressed by the welcome we recieved. the entrance hall and staircase was lovely. our room was small but was so clean as was the bathroom. the curtains were a bit threadbare and rotten wooden window frames, but what a view we had.dinner was brilliant, and joe our waiter could not do enough for us. There were ample rooms to go and sit and read or just chat.. we enjoyed sitting by the log fire talking and enjoying a glass of wine. breakfast was good with a good choice too. the receptionist very kindly showed us on to the roof so we could take photos-the views were spectacular. we will definitely go back to gartmore, for a relaxing enjoyable break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catladyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Attended at the weekend here for an overnight, ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and used the lounge to sit and relax with a couple of vodkas, infront of the amazing and rarely seen log fire.

Food was delightful, well cooked and brilliantly presented, staff were perhaps the most accomdating staff i have ever witnessed in a hotel.

I agree with comments stating that this place might look old fashioned, however in my opinion this adds to the ambience, your in the trossachs, the last thing I want is to be attached to a wi-fi enabled device, or watching the soaps on a tele, no thank you, a walk, a bike ride or go to Go Ape nearby, you'll have a great time.

I have one recommendation, allow well behaved dogs, or build a few kennels outside for owners to be able to look after their dogs, may attract a whole new range of customers.

Thanks for a great stay.

Graeme

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
653 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
668 reviews
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartmore House

Property: Gartmore House
Address: 1 Gartmore, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gartmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Gartmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartmore House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing