We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality and food.”

The Black Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gartmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Peterculter, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality and food.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went for a birthday meal to this place, as we were staying at a local holiday park. It was recommended, and we were not disappointed. The staff/proprietors were very friendly and helpful, and the fresh food was excellent. I'd recommend the Scallop and Stornoway Black Pudding starter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newmilns
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were staying at a lodge close by and decided to visit the Black Bull for dinner, from the minute we stepped inside we were made to feel welcome and due to the size of our party we were given a private dining room which was brilliant. The menu had lots of choice and it all sounded delicious and we were not disappointed when our choices arrived, it was all tasty, well presented and thoroughly enjoyable. Service was great. Would definetly recommend for meals. Very accommodating for families with young children as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysticmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night. The staff were pretty hopeless. Wanted me to fill in a sheet without a pen or pencil in sight. The room lacked heating. The shower handle was broken and the thermostat was faulty as a result the water temperature was either boiling hot or freezing cold. No staff on site untill 9 am just when I was about to leave so although they charged me for a breakfast I didnt get any. To top it all off, the cheeky owners thanked me for my complaints and refused a refund!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Visited the restaurant twice and was very impressed on both occasions
Food was freshly cooked and appeared to be local produce
Welcome from the owners was highly refreshing as they were genuinely interested in their guests
On both visits the restaurant was busy and many appeared to be locals (a good sign)
Will certainly be back! May even use the rooms that are available

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RalphGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Although we didn't actusally stay at The Black Bull we ate there on two occassions when we were at the Activity Centre there.
The first thing we noticed was just how friendly everyone was including the locals, nothing seemed to be too much trouble the food well priced and superb especially the Black Pudding and the Steak and Ale pie, just melted in the mouth.
Staff had 'real' smiles on their facres and happily chatted with us - not sure what the negative review is about I think He must've been having a bad day!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have visited Black Bull twice, both times with a writing group who use its facilities for writing retreats. In total, I've now stayed there four nights and I can't fault the place - comfortable modern bedroom with en suite, fantastic homemade food and staff who truly care.

The first time I was there, I was struck down with a tummy bug. The staff were so kind - they found me a hot water bottle, offered to make me anything from the kitchen that I thought my tummy could handle, offered me glasses of squash, etc.

The negative review below is such a shame. The owners (I think they're called Liz and Andy) are lovely, as are the Irish gals. The bloke below must have caught them on a bad day.

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Some noise from the bar until about 11pm, but I don't mind this - adds to the atmosphere of bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Staff very unwelcoming, unfriendly, knew nothing about the local area they lived and worked in. Irish bar maid an embarrassment to the Irish she was so unfriendly. No local beers unlike the exceptional Brig o' Turk. More warmth from the dead bulls head on the wall. Drive on past.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
20.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.3 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Hotel

Property: The Black Bull Hotel
Address: Main Street, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Gartmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing