We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food for a pub!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gartmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I have just had a tasty meal and couldn't really fault it. Scallops with black pudding to start, Yum!
Cod gujons wig chips was delightful and I even had to finish my partners. No waste here!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KRZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for The Black Bull Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great service from welcoming waitresses, menu offers a good selection of pub grub. Would have scored higher but quality was similar to that of Weatherspoons, dubious if all fish/ burgers fresh and vegetarian option was definitely shop-bought. Were staying nearby and would perhaps travel further afield (Aberfoyle/ Calander) next time for better quality next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Did not stay here, just ate in pub. Delicious food - all very fresh and homecooked, innovative as well. Ate here with wife and baby - highchair happily provided. Highly recommend. Also, excellent value and very friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank DocTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were staying at the nearby Cobleland Campsite, and were recommended this hotel restaurant by one of the staff. Whilst out and about in Aberfoyle, we had tea at Liz McGregor's and there was a discount voucher for the Black Bull available (Liz owns both establishments). We went for a meal and I myust say with or without the voucher this place is well worth a visit. The beer was good, the service was good, the food was excellent (kids had pizza and burger, we had grown up food). I will be paying a return visit, I can assure you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank h0wlingmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went for a meal on Saturday night and it's so deceiving, from the outside it looked like a small place, when we went inside the decor was simply tasteful, there is two small cosy restaurants and a huge restaurant down the back, the staff were certainly run off their feet however it didn't affect their customer service which was first class. The menu was great with everything to suit our whole family from kids to vegetarians plus the bonus of tablet afterwards! If in aberfoyle or calendar or anywhere else local do make the trip into the village of gartmore and try this place.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just enjoyed a break at the black bull, everything was relaxing from the rooms, to the bar to the restaurant, the staff where so helpful and always pleased to see us... We asked for early breakfast as we were going hiking and they left us out a continental breakfast and filled our flasks and left them for us which we really appreciated. It's family run and has that homely feeling and everyone has time for the customers. The table beside us commented that they were staying at a local campsite and came for dinner every night for four evenings because of the homemade food but that the service just topped their evening off. Do try!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Samsontoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were staying at nearby campsite Cobleland in July 2012. It was raining on the Saturday so after a trip to Blair Drummond Safari Park , we thought we would try the Black Bull & have an early dinner. It's beautiful & the fish & chips were fantastic. The owner told us that he ran a mini bus/taxi service and would pick us up from the campsite & take us back again later. We headed back to the campsite, left the car & he was there to pick us up @ 7.10pm. We enjoyed a few drinks & a game or 2 of pool and then he took us back around 10pm. What a fantastic service, and for free too!!!!! We will definitely be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
669 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.5 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
676 reviews
9.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Hotel

Address: Main Street, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Gartmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing