We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hawthorns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hawthorns
Ranked #1 of 23 Drymen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A warm welcome with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Alan the owner, met us on arrival and made us feel very welcome indeed.
The property was centrally located within the village and had been sympathetically restored to a high standard.

If your looking for good quality accommodation at a very reasonable price, you couldnt fault the Hawthorns, but add to that the generous sized rooms, comfortable bed, tv with dvd and a host of dvd's to choose from, with a lovely breakfast in a home from home setting... then what more could anyone desire.

We would recommend the Hawthorns to anyone visiting the area for walking, sight seeing or a relaxing break, such fantastic quality of service, combined with friendly courteous service, is the mark of the proprieters, who clearly want to make your visit a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Top marks to Alan and his partner for a wonderful visit to Loch Lomond nd the Trossachs, I am sure we will book again.

Jim and Sue McHarg

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review Jim. Most guests choose a B&B for a more personal and friendly service, so we are delighted when our guests enjoy it. We really enjoy meeting new guests and try to ensure that we assist in any way we can to make everyone's visit special. We look forward to seeing you and Sue again. Best regards, Corinne and Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    28
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
66
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Val d'Isere, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

First stop on the West Highland Way. Warm welcome from Alan, who showed us to our room where our bags had already been placed. Great stop for the night, warm and cosy and a bumper brekkie to set us off on the next leg. Alan was more than happy to answer all our questions and offer advice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review Maxine - we can't do better than top marks for everything! Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.Best regards, Corinne and Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was my boyfriend's 2nd stay & my 1st but we will definitely be returning. A lovely property with very comfortable rooms, a breakfast to die for & great value for money. What Corrinne & Alan don't know about the locality doesn't appear to be worth knowing. Superb!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review Sue - delighted that you and Michael enjoyed your stay and that our suggested driving routes hit the spot. There is so much to see and do in the immediate area and were are always keen to recommend places to visit further afield as well to ensure your trip is a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Best regards, Corinne and Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our first night on the West Highland Way and a great little B&B. Corinne was very helpful and our bags were even taken up to the room for us. Very clean and comfortable. nice breakfast. Recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EarlstonReiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Many thanks for your great review - we can't do better than top marks for eveything! Very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again. Corinne and Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This was a very comfortable stay with a great breakfast to get you going in the morning. The only down side was the shower in our room. Very little water came out of it so if we had arrived wet and cold the shower would certainly not warm you up.

Room Tip: We shared two rooms linked together as there was four of us walking the WHW. There was plenty of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast always gets a mention! Sorry that the shower pressure wasn't as good as it could have been. Rest assured, if anything isn't up to scratch it will be attended to. Look forward to seeing you all again. Best regards, Corinne and Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel was good value for money,the room was clean and well decorated we had the place to ourselves so could use the lounge without disturbance from anyone which was pleasant.The owners were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotlass123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Corinne & Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hawthorns last weekend for two nights in the family room. We were welcomed by Alan and made to feel comfortable from the outset, not easy when you are fraught from having three young children who are fed up with being couped up in a car. The room was very comfortable with DVDs provided to entertain the children and hot chocolate which we could make up in the room. They even provided us with board games which we could play in the sitting room.
Breakfast was excellent with Corrine listening to what the children wanted to eat and provided exactly what they asked for, whilst my husband and I tucked into the full works - delicious!
Their knowledge of the local area was excellent especially as we didn't know the area and they were able to give us some great suggestions on things to see and do.
Would thoroughly recommend staying here especially if you have family as it is so hard to accommodate 2 adults and 3 children in one room. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Three H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. Our guests should always feel welcome and relaxed. We try to be a home form home and everyone appreciates the little extras like the DVDs, board games, lounge and garden. It is very difficult finding family rooms and we are delighted to have three. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you all again. Best regards, Corinne & Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.1 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#4 of 23 in Drymen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawthorns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawthorns

Property: The Hawthorns
Address: The Square | 1 Gartness Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hawthorns 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, comfortable house, set in own grounds in the heart of this picturesque village in the National Park. All ameneties within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Hawthorns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hawthorns Hotel Drymen
Hawthorns Hotel Drymen
The Hawthorns Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing