We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHELTERED FROM THE RAIN”
Review of Elmbank Drymen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elmbank Drymen
Ranked #15 of 22 Drymen B&B and Inns
inverness
1 review
“SHELTERED FROM THE RAIN”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Many thanks to the elmbank staff who were so very helpful getting our clothes dried after getting caught walking the west Highland Way in an absolute downpour and thanks for the lift to an excellent well needed meal at the Oaktree inn at balmaha. Great B&B lovely room to go along with a sound sleep. Must say we very much enjoyed the roaring fire that warmed our socks lol and best of all free WI-FI lol!! many thanks again hopefully see u again in 2011.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuttyofthesark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Excellent value. Very clean and nice rooms . The perfect place to begin any exploration of the West Highland Way or the pleasures of Loch Lomand. We were given a very friendly welcome and plenty of usefull information as to make our holiday perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pylons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Just enjoyed a fantastic weekend in a lovely little village called Drymen. Friends of ours booked my partner and myself into Elmbank B&B where the hospitality was second to none. Caroline and gil made every effort to ensure we had a most pleasant weekend topped off with a lovely room leading out onto the patio into an inviting little suntrap. Elmbank is an ideal location if you want to enjoy the sights of Loch Lomond. many thanks to them will come again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shalaely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

The best B&B I stayed in on the West Highland Way. Very friendly, excellent ensuite room (I was given a double for the price of a single) and a very good breakfast. Great value. The village green is about 100 metres away with 3-4 pubs / hotels for evening meals.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Ramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2009

My twin room (not ensuite) wouldn't have been even big enough to have got the cat in there in the 1st place never mind to have tested any possibility of swinging it round. Also it didn't have an outside window so I felt I spent the night like a caveman, and additionally this meant no mobile reception. Probably the ensuite rooms are nicer so I don't want to condemn the whole place on my experience but they don;t seem to give them to singles. Breakfast was good, have had much worse elsewhere. So ok, not great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed in Elmbank whilst walking the West Highland Way. We'd booked a double en-suite room. When we arrived we were given a family room which had a double bed and a set of bunk beds. This room was fine for 2 of us but would have been cramped for 4. The owner advised us that the shower wasn't working so we had to use the shared bathroom downstairs - so kind of defeats the purpose of en-suite!! On the positive side the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. We stayed in much better B&B's later on the West Highland Way. One point for walkers - there didn't seem to be a drying room or anywhere to hang wet clothes (luckily for us this wasn't an issue as this was our one and only dry day!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG-Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed in Drymen as wew were unable to get accommodation in Balloch due to The Scottish Open. If I were to return I think I would prefer to stay in Balloch, Drymen was a little small & not as well located.
Elmbank was suggested by a B&B owner in Balloch. The room we had was very small & this was difficult as we were travelling for over a month & had quite a deal of luggage. I was disappointed as I had booked many months before & we were staying 2 nights. On the plus side there was an adjoining loungeroom & kitchen & we were able to leave some things in the loungeroom.
Perhaps we had been spoilt in staying in some very nice B&B's in Ireland beforehand. I would consider that there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#2 of 22 in Drymen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#4 of 22 in Drymen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bramblewood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Drymen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Drymen

Property: Elmbank Drymen
Address: 10 Stirling Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer flexible accommodation. 2 Apartments or 6 bedrooms are enhance by 2 sitting rooms (1 with log stove) and 2 kitchens. Located in the heart of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, Drymen is a small and very friendly village with much to offer the visitor. Conveniently situated, just off Drymen's centre square, Elmbank is close to all local amenities. Whether it be fine dining, age-old cosy pubs, a visit to the leisure club or exploring some of the most spectacular scenery in Scotland, Elmbank is the perfect base to relax or find romance and adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elmbank Drymen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing