We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, not the best, not the worst”
Review of Elmbank Drymen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elmbank Drymen
Ranked #15 of 24 Drymen B&B and Inns
North Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ok, not the best, not the worst”
Reviewed September 19, 2009

My twin room (not ensuite) wouldn't have been even big enough to have got the cat in there in the 1st place never mind to have tested any possibility of swinging it round. Also it didn't have an outside window so I felt I spent the night like a caveman, and additionally this meant no mobile reception. Probably the ensuite rooms are nicer so I don't want to condemn the whole place on my experience but they don;t seem to give them to singles. Breakfast was good, have had much worse elsewhere. So ok, not great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
21
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed in Elmbank whilst walking the West Highland Way. We'd booked a double en-suite room. When we arrived we were given a family room which had a double bed and a set of bunk beds. This room was fine for 2 of us but would have been cramped for 4. The owner advised us that the shower wasn't working so we had to use the shared bathroom downstairs - so kind of defeats the purpose of en-suite!! On the positive side the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. We stayed in much better B&B's later on the West Highland Way. One point for walkers - there didn't seem to be a drying room or anywhere to hang wet clothes (luckily for us this wasn't an issue as this was our one and only dry day!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG-Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed in Drymen as wew were unable to get accommodation in Balloch due to The Scottish Open. If I were to return I think I would prefer to stay in Balloch, Drymen was a little small & not as well located.
Elmbank was suggested by a B&B owner in Balloch. The room we had was very small & this was difficult as we were travelling for over a month & had quite a deal of luggage. I was disappointed as I had booked many months before & we were staying 2 nights. On the plus side there was an adjoining loungeroom & kitchen & we were able to leave some things in the loungeroom.
Perhaps we had been spoilt in staying in some very nice B&B's in Ireland beforehand. I would consider that there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our West highland way walk, and had a pleasant stay.

As we stayed towards the end of August, it was off season, so it seemed as if we had the place to ourselves. We had a double room with a shared bathroom, however as there were no other guests in our area, we had the bathroom to ourselves. As well as that, even though our room was quite cramped, there was a nice lounge area and kitchen specifically for us and a few other rooms, which we ended up having to ourselves.

On top of that, breakfast was nice, and staff helpful. So all-in-all, I'd fully recommend.

  • Liked — lounge and kitchen areas
  • Disliked — main bedroom was a bit cramped
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

A very warm welcome awaits at Elmbank. We had a large bedroom, good recommendations for eating locally in the evening. Good selection at breakfast.

  • Liked — General friendliness
  • Disliked — Quite a soft bed!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed at the Elmbank B&B on the first night of our West Highland Way walk. Reception on arrival was warm and friendly, and unlimited tea and coffee were available. Our room was warm, clean and spacious, and breakfast in the morning was excellent. This friendly and informal B&B is great value for money.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank John&Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.1 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#3 of 24 in Drymen
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#4 of 24 in Drymen
294 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
1,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bramblewood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Drymen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Drymen

Property: Elmbank Drymen
Address: 10 Stirling Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer flexible accommodation. 2 Apartments or 6 bedrooms are enhance by 2 sitting rooms (1 with log stove) and 2 kitchens. Located in the heart of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, Drymen is a small and very friendly village with much to offer the visitor. Conveniently situated, just off Drymen's centre square, Elmbank is close to all local amenities. Whether it be fine dining, age-old cosy pubs, a visit to the leisure club or exploring some of the most spectacular scenery in Scotland, Elmbank is the perfect base to relax or find romance and adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elmbank Drymen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing