We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Shadows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Shadows
Ranked #14 of 23 Drymen B&B and Inns
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed with some friends and had a great time, rooms were spotless, breakfast could not be faulted and our hosts were very pleasant and helpful.
Very peaceful setting overlooking golf course, and each suggestion Gail made for things to do or where to eat were spot on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
27
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Gail is simply the perfect hostess - she provides an excellent service in her beautiful house. For anyone walking the West Highland Way, or visiting the area, you will struggle to find a better bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was a joy to stay here. Gail was very friendly and gave us great pointers on where to eat in the village. She knew what was going on in each eatery, thereby knowing if we'd have to wait or not, and we went with her first choice which did not disappoint. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Grren Shadows on our first day of walking the WHW. we arrived early in Dryman so stayed in the town for while as we could'nt book in until 4pm has it was a lovely sunny day this was no hardship.We could have called Gail for a lift to the house but we walked it being so nice. The House is in a lovely area along a private drive over looking a golf course.
Our room (en suite) was lovely with a fab shower and great view.
Gail kindly drove us into Dryman so we could get dinner and insisted on coming back for us even though we said we could walk it being a lovely evening.
A lovely nights sleep in very comfy bed and then a lovely tastey breakfast to set us up for the day!! A lovely hospitable stay... recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Green Shadows on the first night of our West Highland Way walk.

After having walked 12 miles from Milngavie, it was so good to get picked up by
Gail from the village of Drymen.

Great location and great views from our room.

Gail the owner of Green Shadows is a really friendly host and gave
us some really good advice on where to eat – Clachan Inn!

A B&B with a bit of style - and great breakfasts too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

When we arrived in August 12 my husband nearly didn't come in when he realised it was someone's home that we were staying in. The lady was the only one there are has grown up children so very quiet. It had an attractive downstairs lounge.We are used to 4*'s. we stayed just one night but wished we had more. Excellent area to explore. The upstairs room had stunning views and big windows, the furnishings were equal to the best hotels with attention to detail and style. Immaculate, excellent breakfast. High quality bedding and towels. Eating recommendation was spot on. Although there were 2 other sets of guests we neither saw nor heard their early departure. I would definitely stay there again.Thank you Gail.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

After a tough first day on the West Highland Way in the rain and mis-reading my map when trying to find this B&B, I finally arrived like a wet dog with a "bag bigger than me" at Green Shadows. Gail quickly got me into my room, waited for me to shower, and then whisked me off to town to catch the last dinner service at a local pub. After dinner, she picked me up and helpfully stopped by an ATM so I could get some cash. Seeing the state of me with my ridiculously large bag, Gail convinced me to use one of the WHW's bag carrying services and then arranged for AMS to pick up my bag in the morning. (AMS were great, btw!) I spent many hours on the WHW praising your name, Gail. Oh, how you saved me!

After dinner, I hung out with some of the other guests in the house and had a wonderful time chatting with them in front of the fire. (I even ran into them on the WHW the next day!)

The next morning, Gail fixed a great big breakfast and went to great lengths to help the other guests figure out what to do with their day. Then after breakfast she drove me over to the WHW trail to begin day 2 of the way.

Just superb service all around. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eton_Rifles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drymen hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.8 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#1 of 23 in Drymen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bramblewood Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Ashbank B&B
Ashbank B&B
#7 of 23 in Drymen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#4 of 23 in Drymen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Shadows

Property: Green Shadows
Address: Green Shadows Buchanan Castle Estate, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0HX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Shadows is a four star country bed and breakfast set in a beautiful secluded location in the shadow of the ruins of Buchanan Castle near the the idyllic Loch Lomond village of Drymen and the West Highland Way. Green Shadows enjoys spectacular views over the golf course to the Lomond Hills beyond and is an ideal location for those who appreciate and enjoy the quiet of the countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Shadows Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing