We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Kilmaronock House

Kilmaronock House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmaronock House
Ranked #22 of 24 Drymen B&B and Inns
Bradford
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Beautiful rooms especialy the split level one, spacious light and very clean. Could have spent all day in the bathroom with the bubbles etc. Excellent room service, Ishabel brought us wine and coffee and was always on hand if we needed anything. Peaceful and beautiful surroundings, excellent retreat. Recommend to everyone

  • Liked — The Space
  • Disliked — No pool at time of visit
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pennycroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Kilmaronock House is a very special accommodation.

Good points :
- Nice location.
- Very large room with mezzanine.
- Wi-fi.
- and, of course, wonderful look (maybe better in reality than the pictures on the net).

Need improvements or to be fixed :
- Daylight : Very light white stores and a (high) windows without. In July, full daylight from 5am to 10pm (Scottish summer).
- Cleaness : not really dirty, but hairs everyday and everywhere (from cats ?). Bath and tub far from spotless.
- Small technical problems : 2 television screens but only one works. Plumbing : no hot water during (very) short periods (2 mornings on the 3 we stayed).

A matter of taste : Breakfast. The 3 rooms eat at the same long table during the same short period. Products of good quality, but (relatively) short in choice and quantity (for a “full breakfast”).

  • Liked — Look
  • Disliked — Need improvements
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We were attending a wedding at a nearby church and needed somewhere to stay for the night.

Richard and Ishbel were totally flexible with checking in which meant we could get changed in our room before the wedding which my wife particularly appreciated!

The bedrooms are spacious, clean and well appointed; ours had a brand new en-suite shower room.

Downstairs the sitting room, kitchen and dining room are relaxing and peaceful with complimentary drinks available to provide an excellent night-cap.

The following morning Richard gave me a lift to the hotel which we had attended the previous evening so that i could retrieve my car. This was above and beyond the call of duty and saved us taxi fares and possibly a drink driving charge!

In all seriousness this is a tremendous guest house and Richard and Ishbel are warm, genuine hosts.

They have accomodation up at Inverary where my wife and I will hopefully be able to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — the sausages
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2007

I stayed here with my husband and three children in August of last year. This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. Ishbel was the perfecthost, She could not do enough for us. The room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful as was the rest of the house. The breakfast was lovely and really have nothing to complain about as everything was 100 % . Cant wait to go back but maybe not take the kids dont get me wrong Ishbel was wonderful with them but fine bone china for breakfast and 3 kids dont mix too well !!!! Anyway want to go back just with my husband to have a little bit of luxery, maybe for our wedding anniversary !!!

  • Liked — the service we recieved, We felt like royalty
  • Disliked — nothing it was all good
  • Tips/Secrets — go and stay !!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireabell-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We stayed in the room with the loft and it was quite possibly the nicest place we've ever stayed! If you're any where near the area (which is lovely in itself), it's worth a stay. The room is huge and even nicer than it looks on the website. There is a large jacuzzi tub, with bathrobes and slippers provided and a towel warmer, as well as a separate shower. There are also 2 flat screen tvs, but even better are the peaceful country views out the large windows. The bed was also very comfortable. And to top it off our hosts were lovely!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
1.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
5.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kilmaronock Manse
Kilmaronock Manse
#11 of 24 in Drymen
15 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ardoch Cottage
Ardoch Cottage
#1 of 2 in Gartocharn
56 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#9 of 24 in Balloch
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmaronock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmaronock House

Property: Kilmaronock House
Address: Kilmaronock House Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached by a third-of-a-mile drive, Kilmaronock House in the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park is Scottish baronial in style and stands beside the romantic ivy-covered ruin of 15th century Kilmaronock Castle. Ishbel and Richard welcome guests to stay for B&B in their magnificent Guest Suite - with canopied bed in a double height bedroom with galleried sitting room. A second Twin Bedroom is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilmaronock House Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing