We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We're in love!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loaninghead Holidays
Ranked #5 of 23 Drymen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“We're in love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Apple Cottage for a week and fell totally in love with the cottage and the location.

This was a spur of the moment thing for us as we had been travelling and were supposed to be going camping, but as usual the weather in Scotland was in a huff and so we just stopped in on the way past and the owner, Maybeth could not have been more helpful.

Apple Cottage has 3 bedrooms, a large lounge with a living flame fire and the most beautiful view. The bedrooms are all spacious and everything in the cottage is furnished to the highest standard. The kitchen has a huge RANGEmaster cooker, which I loved as well as a huge RANGEmaster fridge/ freezer where you can get crushed ice!

All the crockery, glasses, ovenware etc are excellent quality and it's obvious that the whole cottage has been furnished with TLC.

It's an excellent base from which to explore Loch Lomond and the Trossachs. Aberfoyle is a 10 minute drive away, Drymen, which has nice restaurants and cafes is a 5 minute drive, and Loch Lomond and Balmaha is 15 minutes maximum.

My husband and I have stayed in many self-catering cottages, but this is one of our favourites by far, and we're already looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Apple Cottage is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyIrving121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is one of the best B&B I have ever stayed in and Mabeth and daughter made us feel extremely welcom.
Tir na Og we visited for Firewalking which was magically and when we got back to B&B we had Hot water bottles in bed how lovely....

Breakfast amazing...

Ever near this place stay overnight worth every penny

Room Tip: Bothy great views
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baettwil
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I spent a week in the lovingly restored Bothy Apartment on the first floor. We felt at home there from the moment we arrived and Mabeth made us feel very welcome. The Bothy has everything one can wish for and more and is very clean, comfortable and practical. The location is wonderful to explore the area. We hardly went out in the evenings, it was such a cosy place just to sit and relax. We will certainly come back one day and can really recommend it to couples of all ages.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisscolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
>. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expections of our guests and give you the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Two Fridays ago I had to go to a meeting in nearby Killearn early morning and booked this B&B for the previous night. Nothing was too much for the lovely, congenial Mabeth and her husband. Her daughter and granddaughters were very friendly too. My only unfair criticism was that the bedroom was too cold for me during the night due to its size and height. I am always cold in Scotland as I hail from warmer lands but this is probably not a fair criticism, as I am unnaturally cold compared to most Scots. I am usually cold at nights and had forgotten my woolly hat to sleep in - don't laugh. Unless its a new build house with central heating blasting I am usually cold. But bless her - Mabeth ensured that there was a portable heater on when I arrived and another fan heater in addition to the central heating. I felt that it would be a bit of a cheek on my part to have the fan heater on all night but thats my issue and not the hostess'. The bedroom and bathroom were HUGE and beautifully decorated. The Sony Bravia TV was posh to say the least. It even had a clock display underneath. The bathroom was stunning in my favourite colours with white suite and black and floor tiles. Breakfast was excellent and Mabeth is clearly a seasoned and excellent hostess. I will return to this B&B again or may even stay in one of the cottages next summer with family or friends. Well done Loaninghead!!!!!

Room Tip: If the drive is icy and you're not driving a 4x4, Mabeth and her husband will make sure that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Loaninghead Farm, Stables Cottage for the Glasgow Sept. weekend. We had a warm welcome from Mabeth who showed us her gorgeous cottage.

The cottage is traditionally decorated with a huge rangemaster stove in the kitchen. It is a very roomy cottage and the views are to die for! Located just outside Drymen and about 30mins drive from Glasgow, you are easily within reach of local pubs, village shops, Loch Lomond and woodland walks, but can head into Glasgow quickly.

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and will definitely return. The beds were the comfiest beds to stay in, the house was very cosy and the log fire was great after a day out walking around!

One thing to keep in mind - there's not much of a phone signal up here so you have to keep holding your phone up like the Lion King to find a signal. But if you're on a country escape who needs a mobile!

We would have preferred to see the utility bill included in the overall price, than a separate bill at the end, but it was not enough to put us off.

Thanks again to Mabeth!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda_fleming_russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Thank you Regards Mabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay,great location exquisite dining room and deor. Mabeth was a fantastic host and gave us a magnificent breakfast to start us for our days exploring. The bedroom was extremely generous in size and comfortable. It was a real trot to return to the open fire in the lounge after a day touring. Can't wait to return!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back.
Regards Mabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Excellent luxury holiday cottage in peaceful tranquil location but close to all visitor ammenities and some great places to eat. A real home from home. A lovely warm welcome awaits you thanks to Mabeth. A lovely place to relax and unwind and a great base to tour the National Park and the wonderful cities of Glasgow, Stirling and Edinburgh from. Really provides something for everyone from walking, shopping and site seeing as well as watersports on the beautiful Loch Lomond. A great place to stay whatever your interests or age, but you do need a car.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms have identical views and peace and tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxis818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mabethLochLomond, Owner at Loaninghead Holidays, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Glad you enjoyed Stables Cottage.
Hope to see you again at Loaninghead.
Regards Mabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
8.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
2.9 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
10.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loaninghead Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loaninghead Holidays

Property: Loaninghead Holidays
Address: Loaninghead, Balfron Station, Glasgow | Scotland, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loaninghead Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loaninghead Offers you bed and breakfast or holiday cottages for your vacation. Authentic, Peaceful Rural Retreat. Stables Cottage sleeps up to 4 persons, 2 bedrooms, Apple House, sleeps up to 5 persons, 3 bedrooms, Bothy Apartment with its outside staircase sleeps 2 persons 1 bedroom. Fully furnished houses. Four star Visit Scotland accommodation. Super king sized beds for your comfort. On the edge of Loch Lomond Trossachs National Park yet within easy access Glasgow/Stirling 20 miles. Ayr/ Edinburgh/Perth 60 miles/ Oban /100 miles round trip. Local villages three miles Drymen/ Balmaha Loch Lomond. Approx. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Loaninghead Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loaninghead Holidays Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing