We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveler rating
426
504
249
119
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
504
249
119
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities steam room hot buffet afternoon tea loch lomond lovely hotel leisure club wedding venue an overnight stay lounge area db b salmon wrap buffet style evening meal restaurant staff bed and breakfast relaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Large hotel, with our room located at the back so this was a long walk to the restaurant/lounge. Room was outdated, with a very slippery floor (we were worried for all the elderly visitors here). We mentioned this at checkout but didn't really get a response. Rooms were ok, somewhat outdated and shower was not very good (low pressure). Could be cleaner. Dinner and breakfast was good. Swimming pool, fitness and spa room are awesome, very clean and well equiped, although the sauna was out of order during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cornelis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Large rooms,very pleasant staff, easy parking and a good breakfast.
Wi-Fi is iffy, room temperature is difficult (impossible?) to control and the shower was practically scary. Never have I had such excessive, uncontrollable water pressure. It was borderline painful and there was no way to keep from drenching the entire bathroom.
Food and service in the Dining Room were nothing special.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife had treated us to a stay at this hotel due to the fact that we had been unable to get holidays together due to work commitments. We arrived early and checked into room number 50. It took a while to get into the room as the card was not reading properly, it eventually capitulated, unfortunately for the couple two doors down theirs would not play at all and they had to make their way back down to reception. Our room was big enough but was very tired indeed, the ceiling had a very large water stain, the carpet had a large amount of ink or similar stains over a large area, one of the light bulbs was not functioning and the window had a large crack covered by a piece of plastic.

The bathroom shower handle was broken leaving a jagged portion and the blind covering the window was insufficient, leaving a gap where you could see or be seen by guests in the conservatory area and had a broken cord.

The bed I felt was very soft and led to a poor sleep. The breakfast was fine, set up in a help yourself buffet style which most places tend to do now. The staff were helpful and polite which was a real plus, it's just a pity the room let everything down.

The room had been booked at a full rate and was not purchased on a Groupon or similar deal so this added to the annoyance.

I did email via the hotels website regarding the above some time ago, however to date there has been no reply.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

After hours travelling we stood at reception whilst they "tried to fit" us in. Our booking made and paid for six months before was changed and our group of four was moved to opposite ends of the hotel instead of close by. The room needed cleaning in many ways. There were stains on the sheets. The staff argued and became aggressive when we said they had not been changed. On the day of leaving the hotel wanted a second payment for one of the rooms. A total shambles!

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank thistlemartha57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Buchanan Arms. The Bar was excellent. The location was good, and close to the Loch Lomond - we were able to ride our bicycles to the Loch from the hotel. Staff very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieDsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews