We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel prior to Ben Lomond climb... with Oldest Pub just down the street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Balloch arms is a very busy place so book early. It has the old world Scottish charm I remember from my days living in Scotland as a boy... and it is a 5 minute walk from the oldest licensed pub in Scotland too. Buy the package that includes the Scottish Breakfast (much bigger than an English breakfast and first class). The hotel also has the nicest indoor pool and gym for those who still have some energy after the 8 mile round trip climb to the top of Ben Lomond. I've stayed at many other hotels near Loch Lomond and this is in my top 3 favorite for charm, price, quality and location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest

I thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Volker Steinemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

A good save by the manager otherwise this would be a one star review.

Hotel perfectly fine for the money - wifi signal strong but very slow. Rooms comfy and generally well decorated. Some work going on to tidy the place us but nothing that should inconvenience anyone.

Our only bad experience was eating at the restaurant in the evening. Staff loudly arguing about a disagreement between themselves in front of customers - our "noodles with Asian veg" being a bowl of egg noodles with just soy sauce and tiny slivers of peppers, courgettes and mushroom. There was no suggestion at the time that this was going to be put right but our bill the next day had the offending meal cost removed and the manager was genuinely sympathetic and understanding.

Generally speaking - a good stopover at a reasonable price. Breakfast was good but I'd avoid the evening meal which was poor.The eighties soft rock ballad background music didn't exactly suggest class or quality either.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNexpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely hotel with pool and spa. we arrived very late but staff were really helpful. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and comfortable with all facilities you would expect including a bath. Only stayed one night but wish it had been more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear Guest


thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you back soon

regards


Volker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have stayed here often in the past its comfortable, and clean but we were disappointed in our room it was roomy enough for a family room but badly needed decorated. Very tired with peeling paint. Food good and excellent spa and pool. A bit of TLC wouldn't go amiss. This was our second stop in our west highland way walk and outer than the decor and tired room we enjoyed o
ur stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for a night to have a look at Loch Lomond. Wasn't the nicest room although for 90 pounds you cant expect too much. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and nice staff. It is a good option for a quick stop-over if your going somewhere but not if your looking for somewhere fancy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LACHY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights for a local wedding. We selected the hotel as the pictures on the site looked good and it was a Best Western, entitling my partner to a room upgrade, due to status with Best Western.

Our alleged upgraded room was shabby and looked out on road barriers, which had garbage standing next to it. Very poor showing, and lady at reception did not care.

The ironic sign saying "free hi -speed internet", was for a connection that did not work if multiple guest connect. So false advertising. We were unable to connect at all at most times from our room.

Furtheremore, due to the age of the hotel, the floors creak and you can hear all noises from the rooms around you. A very sleepless night.

They offered to swap us to another similarly shabby room in another part of the hotel to get a better internet connection, however, this room had damp stains/molt on the ceiling. No thank you.

The overall breakfast experience was below average with so so food.

Our suggestion would be to stay at a different hotel, cause the Buchanan Arms is not worth the money, even after getting a reduction on the nightly rate.

Guest beware.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankdjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest

I am very sorry to hear you felt like this during your recent stay, I personally attended to you regarding the internet issues you experienced, the wifi system was covering your bedroom and I showed you with my laptop that web pages refreshed, I fully agree slowly, due to the rural location of the hotel and the increased demand for guests to use their smart phones, tablets for ever increasing amounts of data the four separate broadband lines with the speed BT can provide here are not coping well during high demand times, You indicated the 77 Megs you enjoy in London and unfortunately even the current option of satellite broadband which I currently explore will offer a maximum of 20Meg download speeds. The barrier you mentioned was removed.
I hope you were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs national park.

Regards

Volker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Interior of the hotel is second rate throughout. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls in our room and a pervading smell of damp everywhere. Floor boards creak, doors squeak, windows rattle. Everything feels like it's just about to give up the ghost.

While staff are friendly they are also slightly useless and unresponsive. Wifi is listed as "high speed", but it's in fact one connection for all bedrooms and is basically unusable.

Seems to specialise in weddings, so don't stay if you're planning on getting any sleep.

Never again.

Oh, and a Best Western diamond club has zero impact on either room allocation or service.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest
I thank you for your comments, as stated in the management comments to your fellow occupant of your room I tried to explain the issue we experience with the supply side of the broadband speed to the area.
The refurbishment of the main corridors is its final stage and I look forward to the completion.

Yours sincerely

Volker Steinemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,089 reviews
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: 22 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range: $71 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing