We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room but a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Glasgow
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean room but a bit tired”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice and has lovely spacious areas like the conservatory and restaurant. The service was generally fine - no problems but not brilliant at breakfast. The rooms although clean were quite tired - friends were also staying so was in a few different rooms. The breakfast was good, large selection and mostly decent quality.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank am407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest

i thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. The BEST WESTERN Buchanan arms hotel just recently changed ownership and i am very pleased to say that the upgrade and refurbishment program is in its full swing. The hotel is a considerable size and it will take some time till we get around all the areas without causing inconvenience to any guests staying but after the short period since the take over our guests already appreciate the improvements and changes.

Regards

Volker Steinemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    460
    200
    80
    57
See reviews for
215
572
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Booked in to join a community conference and the room was lovely - it had been a busy week of travel so the soft bed was an attractive proposition.
After a great sleep I was ready for breakfast and it hit the spot too! A friendly welcome from the waiting staff in the dining room heralded a splendid Scottish breakfast including a drop of haggis to augment the bacon and scrambled eggs.
The conference facilities are warm and airy and on a November day that was very welcome. Plenty tea and coffee - before lunch served back in the dining room buffet style. The staff again warmly welcomed us and served up a choice of delicious lemon chicken or tasty lasagne as well as a vegetarian tartlet option too. Splendid salad and coleslaw on hand as well as tasty roasted veg and potatoes.
so from arrival to departure we had a warm welcome and splendid service - we will return to sit and read in the comfy lounge and quaff a dram or two in the cosy bar - slainte'

Room Tip: I imagine they are all as comfy - stayed twice now - always good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benderloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest

i would like to thank you for your kind comments, and we are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast. I just authorized the purchase of over £2000 worth of buffet display containers, dishes, dispensers and our ambition will be to offer the best breakfast, our team is busy testing sausages, black pudding and such like to find the best ingredience to use.

Hopefully you will be able to enjoy our even better breakfast when you return to the BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

when we arrived we had a bit of a assault course to get through as cleaners has stuff all over the corridors, reception staff were pleasent enough though.
the rooms were all mixed up as we booked as a 4 room family outing for my mums 70th surprise outing to the spa/hotel.
we were meant to have a double room with extra single bed for my 14 year old and ended up with a "cot" for her would have been a bit of a squeeze for her!!
The hotel quickly changed to a Z bed "very uncomfertable but made up of 3 broken Z beds as the orignal had 3 missing slats and 1 broken slat.
the evening meal was nice enough.

There was a party arguing and fighting above us and to the side of us from what we heard someone was having an affair with someone else and they got caught, while their kids used the halls as a runnway to create havoch the nightshift manager was called and sort of calmed them down by saying belt up or spend the night in the cells!!

The morning came as a shock when we came down for our breakfast as the lounge looked like some one had a food fight during the night and at 8:30am they were just hoovering up! i took it that the night shift staff were either to lazy or did not turn up!.
i have stayed in a lot of hotels through the work i do and i have never saw the practice of hoovering up food and rubbish from the night before around guests the next morning, also we had the same table for our13 head party for our breakfast as we had for our dinner and...........low and behold there was food and stuff over the floor from the night before and i myself found this very off putting as i also had to clean my cutlery before eating.

Personaly i will not be back or recomending it.
not very impressed. :(

Room Tip: make sure you stay in the upper rooms ie.....rooms above 30 as
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest

i thank you for your comments,I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here at the Buchanan Arms Hotel
I noted the issues raised with the z beds and subsequently i placed an order for new family beds for 6 bedrooms, which will give us the opportunity to offer a full size king size bed and two additional full size single beds in our family rooms. This means the practice of offering guests small z beds will stop when we receive the delivery of the new bed stock.
All your other comments were discussed at our heads of department meeting and we will implement changes to ensure we will be able to present facilities our guests enjoy and are happy to recommend.

Yours sincerely

Volker Steinemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked for our inlaws anniversary. The staff were welcoming,hotel is lovely,rooms clean but not overly big but for price and for what's needed were nice. Food was excellent the ambience at night time dining was excellent. Up until now I haven't seen a single review about the gym/pool. The equipment in the gym is new and the best that's available. We were lucky the pool was quiet which allowed us to njoy. Would recommend this hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest

we are very pleased to hear you had a great time, hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Volker Steinemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Enjoyed a night at the Buchanan Arms recently. Room was lovely and large as well as clean, if a little tired. Bathroom again large, but perhaps needing updating. Breakfast was plentiful with both hot and cold buffets with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,037 reviews
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 22 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing