We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and without problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and without problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Enjoyed a night at the Buchanan Arms recently. Room was lovely and large as well as clean, if a little tired. Bathroom again large, but perhaps needing updating. Breakfast was plentiful with both hot and cold buffets with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    453
    194
    76
    56
See reviews for
211
558
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent a few days here from 5th until 7th November. Check in at 3.pm and check out 11am.

Nice peaceful location to chill out and get away from it all. Lovely scenic views and totally relaxed atmosphere in hotel. Room was nice , basic but clean and tidy and pretty spacious.TV, kettle and the usual things. Breakfast was superb, everything you could think of including a eat-what-you-want buffet style with full Scottish breakfast. Staff were really polite and helpful too and always smiling.

Nice big casual public lounge and we dined in the restaurant at night which was busy and a nice buzz to it. Food prices and menu were good.

The decor of the place could be doing with a lick of paint but to be honest how " beautiful" a place is inside is not as important to me as the its the people that make it nice. Reception were nice and helpful too.

Location is near most of major cities or towns but a word of warning to families with young children in fact ANY children. There is NOTHING for them to do. Absolutely nothing. That `s of course if your children love walks in the counrtyside.....in the rain.....and the cold....but hey it is Scotland, in Novemeber!If you have a car, then there are lots of nice places of interest to visit nearby.

Looks like they do lots of nice reasonably priced short breaks leading up to Christmas and Hogmany and others throughout the year e.g dinner/dances etc that seem good value for money.

We just loved the peace and quiet and was definitely value for money and worth the visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLLIO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel has a few really positive points going for it, one the location, very handy for either side of Loch Lomond, trips to Glasgow, Stirling or Edinburgh, and secondly a first class pool and leisure facilities.Some aspects of the hotel are quite 'tired' and the decor could probably benefit from being freshened up. We had a dinner that was quite nice and the breakfasts were ok, although both were probably a little disappointing when I discover that in the village is one of the best butchers in Scotland ! Generally a good value base for seeing a lovely part of the country, and Drymen itself has lovely pubs and alternative eating venues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posinthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were there for a 'hen party' and the facilities we had were excellent. I was given a big room to accommodate a gathering we had planned in the bedroom and the hotel were very helpful in organising this room for us. We had fun and silly games in the room (c'mon it was a hen do' ) . Then we had free time to enjoy the lovely spa facilities, very relaxing.
The evening started with a cocktail then we joined the Murder Mystery Night. It was great fun and very entertaining even though we got the wrong killer! The meal was lovely and after the Murder mystery we had a lot of fun and dancing to the really good disco. All in all we had a great time and I can highly recommend the hotel. Breakfast was a bit slow due to high volumes of people but if you've got time its not a problem. The staff were very good. We had a bus coming for us but we made it.
It is perfect for a 'hen do' or even just a relaxing few nights away.

Room Tip: My room no 4 was great but I didn't see the others though they were all very happy with no compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Firstly a positive, the staff were friendly, helpful and the hotel was handily placed for accessing loch lomond, with a good pub just down the road. However, on the downside the hotel is very tired looking and in need of refurbishment, as someone else has stated the walls are paperthin, combined with creaky floorboards and noisy hen parties running up and down the hallway at 3am it doesnt make for a great nights sleep. I would also say the food isn't the best, either at breakfast or for dinner in the restaurant hence why on our second night we ate out at the aformentioned pub, similar in price but worlds apart in quality!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stickolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guests

i thank you for your comments, The Buchanan Arms Hotel was sold to new owners on the 4th Novemeber 2013 and since then the hotel seen a huge amount of work getting completed.
With a start the main car park and leisure club overspill car park were completelly recovered, we had painters working every available day and the proffessional deep cleaining of all carpets and soft furnishings will be completed by this weekend.
Over the next few quiter months a considerable amount of bedrooms will receive a full re-model and refit and all other bedrooms and public areas will be inspected against BEST WESTERN standards and re- fitted or repaired as required.
The management team and staff can see already the huge difference, this new lease of life and funding brought to the BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel and we all look very much forward to be able to present the hotel in a way our guests will enjoy and be happy to recommend us.
Regards

Volker Steinemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Some 28 members of the Macdonald family gathered to celebrate the birthday of its eldest member. What a weekend! We all had a ball. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the food was brilliant. The rooms were very clean and spacious and not one member of our family had a complaint. In fact they all want to go back there. I shall certainly be going back for a much quieter weekend next time. I did however feel sorry for anyone on a quiet weekend break because we were all very jolly and a little noisy. As you can imagine 24 members all going for a swim at the same time on the sunday morning was great for us but not for other guests. would love to do it again.

Room Tip: we were given room 37 which was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest

we thank you for your kind comments.

Regards

Volker Steinemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 23 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing