We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disbelief....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disbelief....”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

....and bewildered at the fact that a hotel can be so bad. Sound proofing needs a complete revamp as does the quality of service and food (dinner sent back) It was clear to see and taste that breakfast along with associated condiments are from a budget supplier, another culinary disappointment! It has been around 10 years since I have complained about an establishment so take note folks, you have been warned!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigy_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Criag

i am sorry you did not enjoy your stay here at the BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel, it seems that during your stay some other guests created quite some noise. As a management team we check all corridors during day and night time to ensure our guests can enjoy a peaceful stay and sleep. Unfortunatelly we must have failed to spot the noisy neighbours of yours.
I was surprized to read that you did not enjoy your meals during your stay and i can assure you we do not purchase budget products as you sugguested.



Regards

Volker Steinemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    472
    205
    84
    60
See reviews for
225
592
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed here around 6 times in the past 2 years and never been disappointed.The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are very pleasant and helpful.The food is loveley and the spa is very good and my wife has really enjoyed her tereatments there.The village is great with a few very old pubs with log fires as has the hotel and there are a couple of good places to eat if you prefer to try something outside of the hotel.Its about a 20 minute drive to Loch Lomond Shores with good shops like Jenners of Edinburgh and there and good watersports.There are also some very good walks around the village of Drymen.All in all this is an excellent value hotel and i would certainly reccomend it.

Room Tip: Rooms around numbers 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent one night here with a friend and had a lovely time. The staff were friendly and our room, although pretty functional with a very basic bathroom, was warm and cosy with nice views over fields. The swimming pool was good, clean changing rooms, towels provided. We had lunch in the bar and it was lovely sitting in front of the roaring coal fire. Our deal included a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates which was a nice touch. Breakfast was good, a hot and cold buffet, plenty of choice. There's not a lot going on in Drymen but the hotel is well-positioned for a wander round the village. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guests

it is good to hear you enjoyed your short break here at the BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel, hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Volker Steinemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We used to come here many years ago every year with my parents before my daughter was born. The hotel has changed a fair bit since we were last here (although strangely the wee pokey bar is the same), the lounge is nice though.

The only criticism is that the room was a wee bit dark and the bathroom a little dated, but everything was very clean (the main thing!) Bearing in mind how much we paid we thought the hotel was very nice and cosy.

The room was a decent size for the 3 of us (daughter on sofa bed).

We did use the pool (reasonable size and nice) and it was quite busy on the Saturday (as was the hotel generally). We were back down on Sunday morning at 7:20 am and it was much quieter. On a weekend if you want the pool to be quiet I suspect you'll need to get up early (no bad thing!) I'd have preferred more cubicles to get undressed in but that's a personal preference to being naked in front of other women (there are a couple of cubicles).

We didn't eat at the hotel as previously we've eaten at The Clachan so we went there for dinner and had lunch in The Drymen Inn (2 pubs nearby). We will maybe try the hotel next time we're there. Drinks were a wee bit pricey but that's hotel prices.

Breakfast was buffet style and we were down just after 8:00 on Sunday morning. The restaurant was fairly quiet, we had no issues with queueing and everything seemed to be nice and fresh. Their black pudding was amazing, without a doubt the best I've tasted in a long long time (so much so I had 2 pieces!)

Staff were very friendly and we had a nice overnight and would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having been to the Buchanan Arms before, I didn't hesitate in buying a night here on Glasgow's great deal as part of my partner's Christmas present. Our room was nice enough but we were woken very early in the morning by the noise of other guests as the walls appeared to be paper thin and the people in the room above could be heard pacing up and down. Around an hour before dinner,my partner asked reception for an iron and was told they would bring one down to the room. When it didn't appear after half an hour or so he called and was told it was just coming...we're still waiting! The dinner set menu was very nice although the cheese option was a rather pathetic plateful of grated Cheddar mixed in with a cream cheese concoction...not great! Breakfast could only be described as a shambles as there was very little food out and everyone had to queue, waiting on the buffet being refilled. The result was a rather staged breakfast as getting more than two items on your plate at a time proved near impossible...All in all we had a nice time as the facilities here are good but the service was rather slow (probably as a result of being understaffed and overfilled) and the lack of sleep due to noise really put us in a bad mood for the morning. Needless to say we probably would not return to this hotel in the future. It has definitely gone downhill since my last visit over a year ago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have just returned from a very relaxing break at The Buchanan Arms Hotel. We were upgraded on our second night by the manager as he was concerned that our room would be noisy due to a function in the room below. Room was superb and we would certainly return to this hotel again.The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly - just what you want on a short break. Did not use the spa so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loutre123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a couple of days in the hotel just after new year, lovely location with great facilities in the hotel. All staff in the public areas were scottish which was a real treat, food superb especially breakfast. Room good size, snug bar delightful to finish your day we will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank weemarScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guests

i thank you fo your kind comments and i look forward to welcome you back in the near future here at the BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel

Kindest Regards

Volker Steinemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,070 reviews
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 22 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing