We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel...what do some people want...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel...what do some people want...”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from a weekend at The Buchanan Arms...was fab. Stayed here a few years ago...was great then and they have done a lot of work since then and it's now absolutely fab. now. Cosy and inviting....the whole atmosphere is so relaxed. Our room was spotless....tea and coffee in room. We attended a party night on the Friday..and had dinner in restaurant on the Sat...food excellent. Breakfast on the Sun. after a party night put the staff under a bit of pressure as everyone came in at the last minute...they rose to the challenge despite some extremely rude guests who lets face it were not starving to death....definately be back.

Room Tip: rooms at front may have some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajerobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    473
    205
    84
    61
See reviews for
226
592
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We visited this hotel after buying a weekend deal off 5pm.com and following some mixed reviews on this website we were slightly apprehensive.
However, we were pleasantly surprised.
Hotel is spotless, staff all welcoming, room was great with flat screen tv , peaceful location, period features with modern decor.
Food was simply delicious in the restaurant and breakfast was great. We had use of the swimming pool and gym which was a great addition to our room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh-pailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We do not get it right all the time, But value all feedback, of course i am happier to read a great review, which points out my staff and facilities but constructive feedback helps me also to improve my product.

Thanks again and i hope i can welcome you back at the BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel in the near future.

Regards

Volker Steinemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Held our annual Conference again this year no complaints whatsoever friendly helpful staff good food and good nice location. Thanks to all staff for a enjoyable time. Special thanks to Lindsay Haggerty for all the attention to detail. Will def book again for next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we also thank you for your repeat business. It is a absolute pleasure to host your event and we look forward to next year.
Thanks again
Volker Steinemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Overnight stay with my two grand daughters.Hotel is in need of a make over.Furniture. In the bar area was old and part broken.

Tv in our family room was not working,although they did try to fix to no avail.

Staff were first class bot property needs cheering up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimHBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I cannot believe I have passed this hotel many times and not stopped over, I was extremely pleased with the quality of the hotel. The staff are very friendly, welcoming and efficient. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and very quiet. I checked out very early this morning and met Jean one of the staff she was excellent very friendly and insisted that we had our breakfast before we left even although breakfast was not being served for another 30 minutes. Jean is indeed an asset to this hotel with her approach and her local knowledge we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. We will definitely return and highly recommend this wonderful hotel and it's staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 50 on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked this as a cheap dinner, bed and breakfast deal. It was ok but felt the place is looking a bit tired. Dinner was all right but nothing special and I felt an extra £1 for a very limited cheese board was a bit over the top.
I used the Spa whilst there and it was very nice.
The staff were friendly and helpful and did try to help when the wifi wasn't working but it didn't improve and wouldn't work at all in the room.
Bed very hard and uncomfortable and breakfast didn't have a great choice.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, get one near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had a great time here just for 1 night. Very helpful and friendly at check in, room very comfortable and the spa was lovely. Nice little bar too. Breakfast was both hot and cold buffet and with some other options (eggs and fish ) that could be ordered. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,070 reviews
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 22 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing