We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at end of sept. Booked thro discount site, ie groupon etc. We upgraded to deluxe Room which was large and spacious. Clean bathroom, decent towels, large tv, couch in Room. The comfiest bed ever! We ate in hotel restaurant which i found reasonable, they did 3 course for 16.95. Good food at this price. Good breakfast.didnt try the pool or gym facilities but had a treatment in the spa, which was good. Only downside was the lounge was quiet, could do with some ambient lighting and some music! It seemed cold and empty! À bus tour staying over were expecting some kind of entertainment, and it did need it! But saying that it was a reasonable price hotel with average facillities.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights here with 2 to go. Central base to travel the west coast. The breakfast is good, bar prices are typically hotel like and the spa area is not bad. Jucuzzi not currently working but steam room is hot, sauna wamish as is the pool.
Staff friendly, the only issue i have is charging £1.80 for what is a dash of lemonade and £1 for a bag of crisps. For that reason only we have eaten out every night spending £50 to £70 a at the other hostelries in Drymen. Clachan was good, ptarmigan slow service and the newly opened Drymen Inn very good.
We bought in juice and crisps for my daughter but would gladly have paid at the bar if the prices were more reasonable.
Room was okay, but toilet very small and there is no water pressure in the shower.
Good three star and i would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 33 is quiet but a bit dark and has a small toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed overnight Sat 6th Oct. Nice clean comfy rooms. Food was very good. Use of pool and facilities.Very nice staff. Would have no hesitation in recommending to friends or family and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent two nights here, with use of spa facilities and pool ect while attending a wedding near by. Staff where friendly and on the whole food was good! Some great walks near by, and generally a nice place to stay. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelman845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

went to this hotel with voucher from itison to enjoy a relaxing morning in the swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room - wonderful and relaxing. This was followed by a very nice afternoon tea with sandwiches, cakes, scones and pot of tea and coffee. really nice. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: did not stay overnight - but would love to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in an upgraded room (number 48) which was huge with a sitting area and a very large and well fitted bathroom. The rooms have obviously been redecorated fairly recently and ours was in good condition except for the curtails which did not completely cover the windows when closed and had lots of missing hooks. I noticed the same problem with the curtains in the guest lounge - why do hotels not replace curtain hooks - it is hardly rocket science and yet not doing so makes the place look unloved and run-down.
We also had to search for the bar man on several occasions in order to be served.
On the positive side the leisure facilities were good and we had a very nice meal in the restaurant one night. Breakfasts were ok - we had been spoiled by superb guest house breakfasts for 6 days prior to staying here so were probably a little too picky.
It was reasonable value for what we paid but just frustrating as it could be so much better if there were more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayCastleDonington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here on a Package Deal, which included Dinner (allows up to £20 pp) and Breakfast - We thought that it was excellent value for money. Our room was large with a huge, comfy bed. The hotel was full when we stayed, as it is a very popular venue for weddings and we did experience some disturbance late at night when other guests were returning to their rooms. The hotel has a leisure centre, which includes a gym, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and a very small pool but it's a decent enough size for a quick dip. Also on site is an excellent Spa "The Haven", which offers wonderful massage treatments.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzyt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,107 reviews
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: 22 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range: $62 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing