We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Ballat Smithy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ballat Smithy Cottage
Cottage front Cottage in foreground left, Loch Lomond at the top
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Ballat Smithy Cottage
Cottage front
Cottage in foreground left, Loch Lomond at the top
Campsie Fells viewed from the cottage
Loch Lomond looking north
The 'Carse of Stirling', the Trossachs behind
Loch Lomond from Duncryne Hill
Sunlight catches the Endrick Water
Winter landscape from behind the cottage
Always welcoming
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iloughrey
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

If I could give this cottage 6 stars I would. Everything was quality - accommodation, location and hospitality. We were visiting friends and family in the area and this was just the most comfortable well equipped property to come 'home' to after lovely days out. Hope to return for longer next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2017
Thank you very much. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you'll be able to come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a lovely cottage, more than ample space for 4 people and everything has been thought of, even a candle for a birthday cake and matches! There are a few quirks to the cottage and Anne explains them on arrival. The property is in an ideal location for exploring the Loch Lomond area and beyond. We had wonderful days out in the Queen Elizabeth Forest Park including the Three Lochs Forest Drive and The Lodge. We took a trip from Balloch to Luss on the boat and Luss is a beautiful village. We spent one day at Falkirk and the fabulous Falkirk Wheel and a visit to the Kelpies.

Anne is a wonderful host and full of local information and giving advice on where to go. We didn't have time to do all her suggestions but we did go up to Inversnaid and saw 8 eagles - perfect timing on our part.

If we get to holiday in this area again we would certainly stay here again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your comments. I hope you'll keep us in mind if you come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gizzle13
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the cottage and can honestly say that it was fabulous. Central location for exploring some beautiful places. A hospitable host who had included everything from toiletries to a lovely welcome pack. Nothing left out. The perfect place for a break in absolutely beautiful surroundings. Thanks so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you very much, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchbir...
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, great location”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 1 week in this beautiful cottage and straight away it feld like a home from home. Anne the owner is very friendly and welcoming. the cottage is really pretty and very comfortable (the beds in particular!) it has everything you need including decent wifi and you even get a welcome pack with a few food goodies.
we spent a week visiting the area and its a perfect base as you are only 20 minutes from places such as Stirling, Balloch etc.. we did a day trip to Edinburgh and it only took 1h30 to get there from the cottage. There are local shops available only 5 minutes drive away which is very handy as well as lovely pubs such as the oldest one in Scotland in nearby Drymen.
we highly recommend this cottage in this really beautiful part of Scotland

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Thank you very much, it was a pleasure to have you stay and we're delighted to know that you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P G
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Ballat Smithy is the ideal location for exploring the Loch Lomond area and is also within easy reach of Glasgow, Sterling and Edinburgh.
The two bedroomed Smithy was surprisingly spacious, very clean and had all the amenities we required for a great week long holiday.
The nearby town of Dryman is constantly busy with many hikers and travellers making their way to Loch Lomond and the Highlands. There are quite a few good eateries, particularly The Clachan Pub and Skoosh coffee shop in Dryman, and The Oaks on Loch Lomond shores.
Anne, the owner of Ballat Smithy, was very helpful with local information and provided us with a lovely welcome parcel of local eggs, bacon, cheese, bread and homemade jam.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thank you very much, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we'll see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian J
Outer Hebrides, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Establishment Throughout”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is perfectly situated for easy access to The Trossachs and Loch Lomond (especially the more beautiful but less accessible eastern side). It is also only an hour from the bright lights of Glasgow. The cottage has a large parking space and inside is immaculately clean and has everything one could reasonably want or expect. I often have trouble sleeping but had no problem doing so in the large double bedroom at the back which was perfectly quiet. The twin room at the front is also spacious and well laid out. The owner, Anne, and her family were most friendly and helpful. I couldn't fault this place. Definitely on my list for a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words Ian. It was a pleasure having you to stay and I'm very glad you enjoyed the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FemkeVD
Lede, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights together with our 13 month old daughter. Lovely cottage. Very cosy but enough space. Had a warm welcome an received a welcome package. The cottage is a perfect place to stay for a few days to explore the region. Be sure that you exactly know where to find it, because not so easy to find in the dark.

Perfect parking in front of the cottage. Even if it lays just beside the road, you don't have any inconvenience from the noise. Would definitely stay here again when back in the region!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
Thank you very much for your comments. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing