We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little place”
other travelers have booked this property
Ballat Smithy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ballat Smithy Cottage
Cottage front Cottage in foreground left, Loch Lomond at the top
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Ballat Smithy Cottage
Cottage front
Cottage in foreground left, Loch Lomond at the top
Campsie Fells viewed from the cottage
Loch Lomond looking north
The 'Carse of Stirling', the Trossachs behind
Loch Lomond from Duncryne Hill
Sunlight catches the Endrick Water
Winter landscape from behind the cottage
Always welcoming
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wayne W
1 review
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Just had 2 weeks while working close
The cottage is a little gem everything you need while away from home the area is stunning and the owner is a lovely women Anne
Will deffo return if I'm up in that area again might just have a family holiday up there just too stay in the cottage

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie B
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely rural setting”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We so enjoyed our Loch Lomond area stay in this sweet cottage. Anne is lovely hostess and very responsive. Cottage is close to the hikes of Ben Lomond and Loch. Cottage was cozy and had everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the cottage
Liked least: the bed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 11, 2014
Thank you for contributing a review of Ballat Smithy Cottage. We are glad you enjoyed the cottage and its location, and sorry that you considered the beds uncomfortable. If you had made us aware of this during your stay or on departure we would have welcomed the opportunity to investigate. The mattress on the double bed was almost new at the time of your visit, and we have received no complaints about any of the beds from other guests; in fact, many comment on how comfortable they are. We agree that the internet connection here is not ideal, however it is our practice to point this out to guests who wish to use the internet, and advise that the best connection is in the bedroom. The cottage is located in a rural area where the internet connection may not be as good as that experienced elsewhere. Had we been made aware of your dissatisfaction at the time we could have directed you to our local library, which also has internet access. Thanks again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie A
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Scottish Beauty”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Anne was a most welcoming host, answering all our many questions with extensive local knowledge, full of handy tips. There is also a jammed packed album full of information for near and far. The facilities were top class, everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The location was handy for the Loch,Luss, local walks, Glasgow, Stirling and many other places of interest. The local pub at Drymen was a good recommendation, good meals, and service
The breakfast pack was appreciated as we arrived on a Bank Holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Part of a working farm, good library
Liked least: Main road location, although handy off road parking.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing