We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking the WHW, Day 1”
Review of Mulberry Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mulberry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 24 Drymen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

First I would like to say , Sorry Yvonne. It has taken far to long to write this review, ( So I had better make it good). What can I say It was one off the best place s Joan & I stayed on the whole way! A very warm welcome, from your self and Thackeray the cat .very comfortable accommodation, and only one mile from Drymen, And ,off course it is situated right on the WHW its self

Room Tip: Book the ground floor double room ,! it s the best room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 824StuartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Better late than never. All reviews are welcomed no matter how long you take and I am just so pleased that you have taken the time out to write such a lovely review, Thank you. Hope you had a great holiday. Kind regards Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had been walking all day (the first day of the West Highland way) and arrived earlier than we had thought to a warm welcome. Such a beautiful house in a beautiful setting. Yvonne makes sure all the little details are just right. There was a lovely fire in the lounge for us to enjoy with Thackeray the cat. The breakfast table was beautifully set and the breakfast itself was delicious. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. I would thoroughly recommend a stay there, it would be the perfect place to stop to explore the area. Who knows we might make it back there, I hope so!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SueB682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay at Mulberry Lodge and it was a pleasure to share our home with you. We would love to welcome you back to Scotland and hope you will one day. Take care Yvonne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We arrived after walking 12 miles from Milngavie on the first stage of the West Highland Way. We had a warm welcome and were recommended several local pubs for dinner, one of which we tried and was very good. The room was very comfortable and well decorated, and the main bathroom was huge, and while we didn't use the bathtub it looked excellent. We spent some time in the lounge with the very friendly house cat Thackary. Unfortunately the heating didn't work during our stay, but Yvonne was kind enough to provide us with a space heater which kept us warm. We enjoyed our tasty breakfast with the other guest, and also had a packed lunch made by Yvonne which set us up for another day of walking! We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhuna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Chris Thanks for the great review and so please that you were able to see beyond the broken down boiler, which was repaired on the Monday and was back up and running by lunch time. These things always happen at the weekend!! We would be delighted to receive you again within the WARM surroundings of Mulberry Lodge, don't leave it too long. Take care Yvonne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A great stay. Yvonne was more than helpful and a great host. The room and whole house in fact was immaculately clean, so so clean I spilt some water on the floor by accident and wiped it up with some white tissue and nothing, not a speck of dirt on it!

The bathroom is one of the nicest and most luxurious I've been in, the room whilst fair enough on the smallish side was comfortable and had everything you needed, tea coffee wardrobe, hooks and hangers and a bin and WIFI! Just tick boxes all around. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, not too much, not too little, the sitting room always with a fire on in the evening and comfy bit leather sofas.

Location is a 13 minute walk to Drymen village centre, very quiet, great country views, peaceful and an old Victorian style home with living room and dining room, quirky trinkets and antique furniture around in a homely but unimposing way. In the village there are a few pubs, I went two days on the trot to the Clachan Inn, the Oak tree inn further out from the village (a drive away) also was great.

Basically, if you're in the area for walks or just a chill weekend or whatever don't even think twice, stop comparing review on tripadvisor and just BOOK MULBERRY LODGE!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frothychocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Jen Thank you so much for a fantastic review. I am glad that you had a great stay at Mulberry Lodge and I appreciate so much that you took the time to send in a comment. Take care and we may see you again in the future. You are always welcome. Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

While walking the West Highland Way with a friend of mine we came by this place. It's on the Way itself and just outside the village of Drymen itself. We got a great bunkbed. The bathroom is the most impressive one I have seen throughout several travels in Schotland. Other than that there was a lovely breakfast, great service and an overall great, friendly and personal treatment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daaf d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Mulberry Lodge and that you took the time to send in a review. I hope that you had a wonderful holiday in Scotland and that the alternative WHW worked out well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Mulberry Lodge is perfect.The warmest welcome, the perfect location and a wonderful wonderful weekend of walking and relaxing. I couldn't recommend Mulberry Lodge more...if you are reading this reveiw book now!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Kate thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. I am glad you had a relaxing weekend and maybe one day we might see you again. Take care Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Staying at the Mulberry Lodge means experiencing a wonderful ambiance surrounded by beautiful landscapes. It's about a ten minutes walk from Drymen. Cosy rooms make your holiday great even at rainy days. The hosts Yvonne and David were so nice to us and they were always open to any questions for information or just for a little chat, but you alway have enough privacy. Fresh flowers and a delicious breakfast for all sort of tastes were making us really happy every day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneMulberry, Owner at Mulberry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you very much for a very speedy and great review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay even although the weather last Saturday was dreadful. I hope you had a pleasant journey home and maybe one day you will visit Scotland again. Take care Yvonne & David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.5 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#3 of 24 in Drymen
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#5 of 24 in Drymen
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shandon Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry Lodge

Address: Mulberry Lodge Gartness Road | By Drymen, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mulberry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Mulberry Lodge, B & B, The West Highland Way, Drymen, Loch Lomond" - Welcome to our 19th-century lodge. Mulberry Lodge is a delightful old lodge house built in 1888 which still retains its character and period features. Enjoy the peace and tranquil location of Mulberry Lodge which sits on its own overlooking fields surrounded by wooded areas in the peaceful and beautiful environs of Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mulberry Lodge Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing