We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 22 Drymen B&B and Inns
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We arrived early and nobody at home but friendly staff from on site taxi business let us in to leave bags until Adele arrived. Welcomed with tea and biscuits. Room decor old fashioned but comfortable - no toiletries provided but we had our own anyway. Positioned well in town square. Good breakfast and staff very cheerful. Had use of kitchen if needed. No staff live on premises.

Room Tip: Room very spacious ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012

After walking from Milngavie we arrived to a smashing welcome from Adelle. Our rooms were clean and comfy with great ensuite shower facilities. We were able to use the kitchen for tea and the fridge for our drinks to cool. The lounge had comfy sofas and tv. Clachan pub right next door with fab grub at reasonable prices. Had a great nights sleep. Fabulous brekkie cooked by Adelle next morning set us up for the days walk to Rowardennan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziglen120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nice welcome with a cup of tea and biccies. Good position with it being next door to Clachan pub where we had a decent meal £10 and a couple of nice St andrews beers. The supermarket is just across the road for supplies for next day.
The room was fine but a bit dated, We did have a problem with the shower going from cold to very hot on its own, not the best after a 12 mile walk, perhaps Adele could explain how to get it to work better. No TV/ tea or coffee in the room but guests do have the use of the kitchen with tea and coffee available and front room with TV and internet.
Breakfast was good and once again friendly service. Thanks Adele hope you can sort the shower out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

After a long slog from Milngavie what a welcome sight Hillview B&B was.
Set right next door to the Clachan (oldest pub in Scotland) it is ideally situated.
Adele gave us a cheery greet and made us a fantastic cuppa and biccies (Wagon Wheels!!! Not had them in ages!)
We were given the use of the tumble dryer which was a godsend.
The room was modest, but comfy enough (cracking sleep on a comfy bed) which is just what you want after a days walking. Although there was no tea and coffee in the room, unrestricted access to the kitchen was allowed, as well as the living room (giving it a really relaxing home from home atmosphere)
The breakfast was awsome, especially the black pudding (from Stornaway!!!) which set us up nicely for the next stage.
All in all a very comfortable, enjoyable stay, made to feel very welcome indeed. Will be recommending Hillview to my friends and colleagues.
Thanks again Adele, for your warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillwalker914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Another great stay at Hillview. Ideal location in centre of village next to the Clachan Inn. Good choice for ending the first day of the West Highland Way. A warm friendly welcome from Adele and a hearty breakfast. Free WiFi a bonus. Also dog friendly if you have a four legged friend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubman195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
279 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here as our first port of call on the West Highland Way and found it to be the poorest of our accomodations. The location was good - right next door to the Clachan - and surprisingly quiet, but the accomodation itself was in need of some care and attention. The rooms were old fashioned and outdated, and our bathroom had a large chip and big dirty cracks on the sink which looked like they'd been there for some time. The shower also leaked a little from the corner.

Positives were that the kitchen was available for tea and coffee making at any time, and there was a lounge area available for guests. The welcome was friendly.

Negatives included the musty smell of the place and the cheap provisions for breakfast - it would be good to see a little more spent on ensuring that a decent breakfast is provided.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had a lovely welcome from Adele at the end of walking our first day of the West Highland Way. I had a single room booked but she upgraded me at no extra cost to a family room because it was not taken that night, so I got to rest my weary bones in a double bed! Lovely view, warm cozy beds/rooms, hot shower, nice comfy shared lounge with a TV. All good value for the very cheap price.

The breakfast was OK (good for the price I suppose). The TV in my room didn't work but I didn't want it anyway. No toiletries were provided for the shower (shower gel, soap or shampoo)- not a complaint given the price but make sure you bring some!

I loved the super-kitsch decor.

Adele recommended the pub next door for us to eat dinner but I wasn't that impressed with it- still, maybe it's the best place in this small town! She also recommended we don't take the packed lunch at £7 - that the local Spar shop opened early so we could make our own (we were allowed to use her kitchen).. this was really helpful of her and we had a lovely lunch that day as a result.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowKauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
10.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Milngavie) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#2 of 22 in Drymen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#4 of 22 in Drymen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bramblewood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hillview Bed & Breakfast Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing