We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm, cozy and good value start to the West Highland Way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillview Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drymen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 23 Drymen B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A warm, cozy and good value start to the West Highland Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had a lovely welcome from Adele at the end of walking our first day of the West Highland Way. I had a single room booked but she upgraded me at no extra cost to a family room because it was not taken that night, so I got to rest my weary bones in a double bed! Lovely view, warm cozy beds/rooms, hot shower, nice comfy shared lounge with a TV. All good value for the very cheap price.

The breakfast was OK (good for the price I suppose). The TV in my room didn't work but I didn't want it anyway. No toiletries were provided for the shower (shower gel, soap or shampoo)- not a complaint given the price but make sure you bring some!

I loved the super-kitsch decor.

Adele recommended the pub next door for us to eat dinner but I wasn't that impressed with it- still, maybe it's the best place in this small town! She also recommended we don't take the packed lunch at £7 - that the local Spar shop opened early so we could make our own (we were allowed to use her kitchen).. this was really helpful of her and we had a lovely lunch that day as a result.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowKauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Must be our 5th or 6th stay at Hillview. Perfect for West Highland Way or an overnight stop before heading further north.
Always a warm welcome. Rooms clean, quiet, hearty breakfast and the Clachan Inn is next door for an evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubman195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koksijde
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

location is in the center of Drymen, only 5 minutes off the West Highland way. we were welcomed with a cup of coffee and could sit in te livingroom
the rooms were maybe a bit oldfashioned, but clean. For me, the bed was not so comfortable but my husband slept well.
Friendly and good breakfast. next to a very nice pub with delicious food, but you can't hear any noise from it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Arrived here in the rain after walking first stage of west highland way, no one in but phoned Adele who arranged immediately for us to get in and find our room. Very nice place to stay. Adele very welcoming. Room comfortable and breakfast great. Met fellow walkers as well who gave us encouragement along the way.
The Clachan next door was great too for a nice drink and good food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

Very comfortable room, furnished with antiques, and with an excellent bathroom. The host, Adele, was very welcoming – delicious tea, coffee and Wagon Wheels on arrival. An added bonus was being next door to the Clachan Inn, one of the finest pubs on the West Highland Way. A great B&B, and a much better value alternative to staying at The Winnock.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherpaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.1 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
10.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Milngavie) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#1 of 23 in Drymen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#4 of 23 in Drymen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bramblewood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hillview Bed & Breakfast Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing