We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder Mystery Night”
Review of Winnock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
GreenLeadersGold level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Murder Mystery Night”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, roaring log fire on a chilly weekend gave the hotel a very cosy feel. Room was excellent. Good food and service throughout. Murder mystery so much better than we expected, excellent performances from the cast, Adding this to our annual events and looking forward to next year already.

Room Tip: For a little extra we had a room with a four poster bed - it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    343
    168
    75
    45
See reviews for
139
509
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A great value hotel set in a beautiful location. Layout of hotel is a bit quirky but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great log fire in the bar and food (both bar and restaurant) were excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have easy access from car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandMSEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night as part of the murder mystery weekend. There were 19 of us all together and I must say I was not looking forward to coming due to reading the hotel reviews especially the bedrooms on trip advisor. Well I can strongly say none of us had any problems, I was in room 35 and it was very spacious, very comfortable and more importantly very clean. The public rooms and bar cozy and welcoming. The staff were very accommodating nothing was to much trouble and we were a bit demanding with our food choices. Our dinner was fab enough choices to keep everyone happy. Breakfast was one of the best I had lots of choices and nice and fresh. Please don't let bad reviews put you off staying here as we had 10 rooms and not a problem in any of them.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

No ersatz touristic charm here. The historic inn, obviously once the hub of Drymen, now caters for every need of the modern traveller. ‘Service’ is clearly the watchword for the young and enthusiastic staff, who support a superb kitchen. No more than 45 mins drive from Glasgow, an ideal base to explore Loch Lomond &Trossachs…

Room Tip: Reasonable prices, comfortable rooms, superb service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewmbnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strullendorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you enjoy staying in a hotel that was maybe built 100 years ago, you might feel ok. We didn't. Staff at the reception was more interested in her computer than welcoming the guests, no warm words, just a key. Waiters at breakfast that was actually quite nice were friendly and helpful, choice of food was ok, but no big variety.
The rooms were clean, but that is where the positive things end. The floor of the room wasn't even, but nobody cared to fix that, resulting in a bed you might have rolled out, tilted furniture you could not even put a bottle of water on without it sliding down and the size of the bed was very narrow. All these things were made worse by waking up at 6 o'clock in the morning because of the whole room vibrating and rumbling by the water pipes that ran down behind the headboard.
All in all I would not stay at this hotel for 1 more night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johannes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ww stayed last night after ben let down 3 times previously for the murder mystery night, It was murder and the onlymystery is how this place still functions as a hotel, the levelof cleanliness is disgusting and our room(10) initially looked fine and bearing in mind it was an upgrade due to previous problems in booking murder mystery night...we decided just to go dinner/bed/breakfast.quick look about the room and the dust was everywhere and filled your lungs with every breath, I think if it was haloween they might have got away with the spiders and webs evident everywhere, the dust was on top of the four poster bed/curtains/skirting and light bulbs(one never lit)did not have the willpower to complain after recent op and was never asked if it was suitable....The good side was the bar and food that were both excellent with steak to die for.but given that it was nearly 200 including dinner and the room bears the brunt of this cost it was hostel class at best at the ritz prices...maybe the cleaners were on strike as they certainly were not cleaning......would return for bar and food but not stay given there is ample bed and breakfast facilities all around especially in off peak times....pity they dont get the basics right as it spoiled what would have been a great weekend.....Management in this hotel need a massive boot up the backside as the lack of standards is concerning for health and safety reasons and anyone with allergies from dust must avoid like the plague....if I was scoring the room only it wold be 2/10 and if I was scoring the bar and the food it would be 9/10.....shame but honest review..

Room Tip: go some where else please note there is no fitness centre or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed one night on walking trip . Room ok but in need of refurbishment . Shows signs of wear and tear in bathroom especially . As we were 2 male walkers we weren,t looking for 5 star acc but I wouldn,t come here with my wife as its a bit shabby all throughout the hotel . Bar quite nice with open fire , good range of drinks but we ordered a meal each and mine unfortunately revealed an 8 legged insect of sorts which I only saw near the end of my meal . We were recompensed with 2 free drinks each as our appetites had gone on this discovery . Breakfast was ok with usual variety of cereal / juices / cooked breakfast etc so not bad and service fine . All in all I survived without being rushed to hospital but I really would,t recommend you taking your wife/girlfriend here .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
16.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnock Hotel

Property: Winnock Hotel
Address: The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Winnock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winnock Hotel dates back to the late 1700’s and throughout history has always offered lodging to weary travelers passing through by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs areas.Formerly a coaching inn, The Winnock hotel has been lovingly restored and tastefully extended to its present day form. Offering 73 bedrooms, cosy lounges; many with open log fires, a characterful restaurant, function room and public lounge bar, the hotel has many things in common with its historic counterpart with one striking similarity - friendly, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnock Hotel Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing