We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder Mystery good, hotel not so”
Review of Winnock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Winnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Darlington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Murder Mystery good, hotel not so”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a group on a murder mystery weekend package.

The murder mystery was great fun and the actors were good, I would recommend this part of the stay.

The hotel itself was dated and the room facilities were poor. One of my party had to move rooms 3 times as there was no water in the rooms.

My room was ok but I was disappointed with the toiletries in the bathroom. A dispenser on the wall that you had to guess what was inside because there was no label. Who knows what it actually was because it smelt terrible like hair remover.The soap at the basin was in a dispenser that had seen better days. Disappointing for a hotel that is rated 3 stars.

Another room in the party didn't have any soap in the bathroom.

The food on the evening was really good but the breakfast was disappointing. There was a reasonable selection but the quality was poor.

The bar was good, there was a local act singing who were great and the atmosphere was really good. The let down was that the bar closed at 1am even to hotel residents.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend and I wouldn't stay here again.

I would recommend the bar and the murder mystery.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    339
    163
    70
    45
See reviews for
136
499
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WALSALL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Room on 1st floor steps everywhere. Service in diningroom very slow although food when arrived warm. Beware entrance can be hazardous.Reception very good but needs to be because such as heating,plumbing or electrical suggests maimtenance needs inprovement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coachjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Myself and friends stayed here for 2 nights, We thought it was going to be wonderful any time we phoned before hand our every request could be met the reality couldn't be further from the truth so if you make any arrangements by telephone get them to confirm it in writing to you. On several occasions we had to wait far too long too be served at the bar no one seemed to be on duty in the bar.

We had made a previous booking for the murder mystery and due to 2 of our party being very ill we had to re schedule there was a bit of a mix up as one of our nights wasn't booked through the hotel, when we re-booked we were told the murder mystery night had changed but since we had already booked and had to re-schedule we would be put down for the murder mystery of the evening we were going to stay. We then found out by accident if we wanted to attend we would have to pay. We decided to have dinner and just relax at the hotel after dinner the waitress was adamant we had to pay for dinner we had to go with her to reception where an apology was only granted after prompting by the duty manager.

The list of fault's is endless some petty and some not so petty on trying to complain to the third party we had booked our room under the manager told them we were just angry because we didn't get to the murder mystery, I suppose its easier for him to think that than think than deal with the list of complaint's that were in front of him.

Food could be either be lovely or awful there was no middle ground one night the dinner was wonderful the next we couldn't eat it, one of my party did tell the waitress the chicken was awful and her response was "och well nae worries".

The staff were very nice and most of the helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I are repeat customers to this unique but traditionally Scottish hotel. We are always drawn back because of the friendly relaxed atmosphere and the roaring log fires which always give me a happy, cosy feeling.

On our last visit we were over the moon to be upgraded to one of the family rooms because we had been repeat customers. The room was full of extra touches of luxury , not to mention the tv you could watch whilst in the bath.

I wish I'd caught the name of the lady on the front desk who upgraded us so I could thank her personally on here. If your reading this you know who you are.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipsticksuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Dinner was very good, and the staff pleasant. On arrival, the room itself was fine, except that I was amazed to find a half-full glass of lager sitting on the table! I would have expected an upgrade room to have wifi facility and more then 2 coathangers. The bathroom toiletries were in unlabelled bulk plastic squeezy bottles screwed to the wall, more reminiscent of a £19 per night Travelodge stay! The receptionist assured me on checking out that the liquid was suitable for use as soap, shower gel and shampoo.
Disappointing that the debris from the murder mystery night - empty glasses, bottles and lots of feathers ( from a boa?) - was still strewn around the function room at 11am the following morning. Although we had not been at the murder mystery night we had to walk through that room to reach reception and the dining room, or go round the outside of the hotel in pouring rain, so not pleasant. To be fair, the upgrade cost was deducted from the bill, but still not sure I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quaereverum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here 1 night for my Daughters 40th Birthday. The room was well equiped we had a 4 poster bed which was very comfortable. The food was really very good.The staff very helpful.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosylene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had an overnight stay at the Winnock Hotel, Drymen. Very pleasant. Our room was very comfortable, clean and well kitted out. Clean white bedding and plenty of clean white towels. Comfortable bed, lovely warm room.
Met with an extremely helpful, cheery and well mannered receptionist.
Dinner delicious, chicken liver pâté, salmon en croute, cheese selection, coffee and lovely wine.
Very amusing talented actors entertaining us for our murder mystery, delicious breakfast after a lovely evening in the bar where we were entertained with music.
This was my first stay in this lovely village it won't be my last. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Fantastic staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, the village road can be quite busy but the views are stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnock Hotel

Property: Winnock Hotel
Address: The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Winnock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winnock Hotel dates back to the late 1700’s and throughout history has always offered lodging to weary travelers passing through by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs areas.Formerly a coaching inn, The Winnock hotel has been lovingly restored and tastefully extended to its present day form. Offering 73 bedrooms, cosy lounges; many with open log fires, a characterful restaurant, function room and public lounge bar, the hotel has many things in common with its historic counterpart with one striking similarity - friendly, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Winnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnock Hotel Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing