We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!”
Review of Foxglove Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foxglove Cottages
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So relaxing!”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We are just back from a one night stay at the Foxglove Cottages and are so relaxed we feel as though we have been away for a week! The cottage was outstanding in every way from decor to facilities. Everything has been thought of; games, dvds, sky sports and movies, a kitchen that truly has everything you could want and the jacuzzi bath, sauna and shower are fabulous. The cottage was really cosy despite the snow during the night and the peace and quiet was amazing. The owls gave my hubby a fright but he's a city boy haha. I would heartily recommend the cottages to anyone, in fact I've just phoned my mum to tell her all about it! The owner take well deserved pride in the cottages and could not be more helpful, I wish them continued success!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weefifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Stayed here in October 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everything about the place was well thought out - easy to find, great setting, loads of useful information, very peaceful, very child friendly with loads of things to do if (when) it rains - and a sauna. As we were arriving a baby deer ran across the path - a lovely start. The local village of Drymen is in walking distance with a marvellous local butcher serving the greatest pies you could find anywhere in the world outside of Wigan and a range of high quality meat - try the stornaway black puddings...mmmmm....... The Ptarmigan Bar at the Winnock does reasonably priced good bar meals. Lots to do and see. We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Don't be put off with first impressions of the outside. Inside is absolutely stunning. Very clean, warm and cosy. Sun from morning to night in the decking area. Kitchen fully equiped. Quiet and peaceful. Everything in this cottage was to a high standard. Excellent for adults and couples. Reluctant to take children as you would constantly be on edge in case they had an "accident". Policy and proceedures are very strict, so athough this is ideal for families I would find it difficult to relax. Loads of information for things to do and eating out. Chinese delivered was fantastic. Paperwork suggests that there is an electricty allowance, but it is not stipulated anywhere what the allowance is, but you will be charged if you go over. Alot of info for places is dated from 2005 - 2008, probably hasen't changed much.
All in all great accommodation, highly recommend it. Strict guidelines are required to be in place so as to maintain high standards.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Just returned from what was going to be two nights at Foxglove Cottages to end our busy but wonderful tour of the Highlands and Islands of Sctotland. Had to book a third night, it was just so relaxing. We were lucky enough to have the first day on our own as the other 2 lodges (they aren't cottages) were empty which was even better. James the owner was having the road improved and even that didn't shatter the tranquility. Such a secluded peaceful spot - highly recommended.

The only tiny negative point were that there wasn't a freezer in the lodge (middle lodge) which is a bit odd considering the standard of the interiors.

Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Thumbelina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We have recently returned following a week long stay in Foxglove Cottages. Neither of us wanted to leave, which is really saying something, as we have stayed in some of the finest hotels across the world.

If you are planning a visit to Loch Lomond, you simplely have to stay here. The piece and quite was simply wonderful.

Foxglove Cottages really sell themselves short, their website simplely doesn't do justice to the cottages.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDoctorBiarritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Having travelled from Reading to Scotland via Northumberland we were delighted to find this hidden gem in a secluded country estate just 10 minutes walk from pubs and restaurants. We could just relax, with all the information provided, watch the huge tv and a Sky film with a delivered meal.

There is real homely feel with a lot of personal touches from the owners that completely relaxes you. We will be sorry to leave and doubt the next place will reach anywhere near the standard fo Foxglove.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ReadingHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Very welcoming and friendly with every detail and those small touches to make it special.

The owners have put everything in place to make your stay all the more enjoyable, from the chocolates on the bed to the information folders of places to visit and eat.

Foxglove cottages are ideal for a retreat for two, we hope to return soon for a family gathering.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LeoPitlochry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.6 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.7 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxglove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxglove Cottages

Property: Foxglove Cottages
Address: Gartness Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxglove Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foxglove Suites and Cottages are within a 20 acre estate with deer, pheasants seen daily. They are adjacent to the West Highland Way in the Loch Lomond National Park. It is a 10 minute walk to shops and restaurants in Drymen with Glasgow and Stirling 30 minutes away and 60 minutes to Edinburgh by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Foxglove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Cottages Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing