We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation wonderful!”

West Highland Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crianlarich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Highland Lodge
Ranked #9 of 11 Crianlarich B&B and Inns
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxation wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Once we had found our way, we had passed the sign, we found this place fascinating
just a few mins from Crainlarich yet so quiet you would think you were somewhere in the thick of the Highlands. So quiet you could see the train going past in the distance but no sound. The only sound was the sound of nature. The room was wonderful, clean comfortable with great views out the window. No TV in the room but a very large one in the residents lounge. The dinner was wonderful all home made and you could choose - Paul would come and tell us what was available in the morning we would choose and the food was just great, always with your coffee served in the lounge. They did not sell wine but would keep yours cold and serve it with dinner. This is the place for relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alter45nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for one night outbound to Outer Hebrides and Inbound on our return journey home. We received a friendly welcome on both occasions and shown to a comfortable room both times. This is a lovely quiet location for weary travellers who can get a very good night's sleep, a hearty evening meal and a breakfast to set you up for whatever the day brings. We would thoroughly recommend the West Highland Lodge for overnight accommodation or longer. The sign post on the road could be more easy to spot as a sat/nav can mislead you past it. Also an indication that you need to follow the road up once you enter the gateway would be an advantage. However don't let this detract you from staying at first class accommodation which is realistically priced.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anfgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

A lovely B&B in a beautiful area. Spotless clean with a great breakfast. Very welcoming hosts. Our room at the front of the house had a beautiful view and downstairs there is a sun room which you relax in. Can't wait to return later this year for our third stay. Ideal place to stop on way to the northern highlands.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighlandWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

This is a lovely spacious B & B.
We used it as a stopping-off point for a trip to Skye and beyond.
Very clean - with nice (good sized) rooms, and a fantastic lounge and sun-lounge with huge TV, which we didn't watch because of all the books and games.
The kids loved it.
Jen & Paul are extremely welcoming and make you feel at home.
Breakfast is lovely and you can choose all sorts of combinations.
I'd recommend the evening meal - lovely food from a few choices each night.

Overall - highly recommended - a great family place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_from_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

A comfortable friendly B&B close to the West Highland Way. Superb views from the lounge, dining room and bedroom. Two lounges, one with large screen TV. Two of us shared a large triple room. Good simple supper, and a good breakfast. Very helpful owners, who collected us from the Way, and returned us there next morning. The B&B is situated north of Crianlarich, so we had a head start the next day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Lovely situation, with genuine mountain views. Basic cosy no frills room, the only down side perhaps the rather flimsy door to the en suite shower and toilet. What makes up for this however is the very cosy guests sitting room and conservatory which overlooks the hills. Very nice breakfast. A happy atmosphere and a real family run business, which was evidenced by the occasional appearance of a toddler on a trike at breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

An excellent B&B - very large spacious room, and great food run (dinner available if required) by incredibly friendly couple. A couple of quiet areas to sit outwith the rooms which was also nice.

Location is ideal is you have a car, but not so good if you're walking the West Highland Way (which we were) as it's a little off the route, but the views from the room were breath taking.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themadjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 11 in Crianlarich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luib Hotel
Luib Hotel
#2 of 4 in Crianlarich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garrison of Inversnaid
Garrison of Inversnaid
#2 of 2 in Inversnaid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 11 in Crianlarich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Highland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Highland Lodge

Property: West Highland Lodge
Address: Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20BRU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Crianlarich
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home from home atmosphere and relaxed comfortable environment awaits you at this non smoking guest house situated in a unique location with panoramic mountain views within the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National park, one of the most attractive parts of Scotland. Centrally located on the A82 (the road north to Oban and Fort William) which makes an excellent base for touring around Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Highland Lodge Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing