We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming hotel”
Review of Luib Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luib Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Arrived and made to feel very welcome. A dog friendly hotel too. Food both dinner and breakfast was as excellent as the hospitality. A very good stopping off place heading further north or as I did, heading south for home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 240 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Given the excellent reception and warmth always offered on our previous visits we just had to pop in past when driving on our way past to Glencoe to experience the refreshments on offer. As usual we were overwhelmed with the hospitality shown by James and Nellie and heartened to hear about the almost completed refurbishments going on at the moment in the form of bathroom upgrades. The character of this lovely listed building is only matched by its hosts (although Im not saying they are that old!!) and it was lovely sitting in front of the roasting log fire and xmas decorations enjoying a catch up and excellent food. We will be back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bruce y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A family group of 13 to celebrate Grampa's 80th birthday. The youngest member of the group was 16 and the oldest, 80, the birthday boy!
We took over the whole hotel from early afternoon Saturday to Sunday lunchtime.
Arriving on a cold windy Saturday, the lounge with a roaring log fire was very welcoming, outmatched only by the warm welcome from hosts, James and Nellie!
Once all the group had arrived and sorted themselves into rooms, we assembled as a group in the lounge and were served champagne and a lovely golf-themed birthday cake (sourced from the Luib's cake designer). The cake was delicious, the champagne was delicious, a good start. We were then served a light afternoon tea (didn't want to spoil appetites for later!) and during this there were party games organised by younger family members. It was a great family together time and Nellie and James flitted in and out keeping us well supplied with refreshments, etc.
Early evening was a time for the oldies to rest before dinner and the young ones to carry on doing their thing, it was great to have the whole hotel just for our group.
Pre-dinner cocktails at 7pm and specially for the occassion, James had concocted 2 new cocktails named in honour of the birthday boy, They were both delicious, even the non-alcoholic one!
We had opted for a buffet style dinner and what a great decision that was. The centerpiece of the table was a 12 pound locally-caught salmon, it was served complete and looked stunning, Nellie served us the salmon and it just flaked from the bone, perfect. There were a host of other dishes, superb beef parcels, a stroganoff, Vitello tonnato, feta-stuffed mushrooms, foccacia served with a lovely salad, etc, etc, etc. Many many revisits to the serving table had to be made to appreciate all the different offerings. We would thoroughly recommend a party booking like us to go for a buffet option dinner like this. Dessert was home made tiramisu and then the most marvellous cheese board, I noticed that quite a few of our group who would not normally opt for a cheese plate making several trips to try the different cheeses and port! Wine with dinner was James choice and the red and white selections he made for us were both very good.
After dinner there was a nice family time with everyone just continuing with catching up on what the younger ones were up to (we are scattered a fair bit across the country so all of us being together at once is an unusual occurence). During this, James kept us supplied with tastings from his vast whisky collection, very nice indeed, good company, good whisky, very mellow, it's the reason we in Scotland put up with the rain.
Sunday morning, nice big breakfast that set us up for the day and then by 12 it was time for us to go our different ways.
Thank-you James and Nellie for letting us use your place like our own, for the wonderful food and drink and for being such good hosts.
Roger, 80 years young, loved his birthday weekend party with his daughters, sons-in-law, grandchildren and their partners. The Luib made it a special time for him, what more could we want - thankyou.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roundthenextcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Don't expect what you're used from a mainstream hotel but get a comfortable place for a nice stay. Good location for hiking in area. Comfortable beds, plain rooms though. Compensated by cosy restaurant/living room. Great place to have a few drinks at the fire place after anice meal!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahejaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Much like other reviewers - the hotel was a little tired in places, but the customer service was excellent. They couldn't have been more helpful. Everything was offered before it was asked for. Our mountaineering equipment was washed and dried (no charge). The owner helped us load the car at the end of the stay. He offered us the use of another ensuite when our shower was not working before any enquiry was made. Food as expected for this type of venue. Whisky very good. We had the only twin room. Room was fine, but the ensuite needs to refitting. We used a bathroom in a double room and the whole room / ensuite was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Looking for a hotel at some points in the season in the area is often outside my budget, so staying an hour or so away from Oban isn't a problem. However this wasn't what I expected. The owner was happy to drink whiskey, while the food really wasn't pleasant. The hand cut chips were spoilt by rancid fat and the burger bun soggy. What a shame as it sounded very nice. The room was a step back in time, laminated chipboard made into cupboards and a basic shelf made into your tea/coffee point. I didn't stay for breakfast as the room had a cold feel about it. It's sad to think that a supermarket coffee shop sounded a better option. Looking on the website it doesn't reflect the buildings around the hotel. As far as location goes it really is perfect thou and the views driving around the area stunning. The Christmas look alike decorations in the bar really made me laugh !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuibHotel, Owner at Luib Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for posting the review of your stay. We find it difficult to accept your complaint about the food 4 weeks after eating a haggis burger, especially when your plate was empty and not a chip left, please do not compare our burgers to those of the multi national chains as they are and always will be different. The fat used to fry your chips was beef fat so again the taste will be different to what you are used to, but definitely not rancid. We never said or advertised that our chips are hand cut so obviously you invented this trying to make everything look bad which we find hard to comprehend.
Had you stayed for breakfast you would have been shown to our breakfast room which is definitely not cold, obviously the bar area at 8am is a colder looking area.
The building next to the hotel which you have mentioned has nothing to do with the hotel but is a grade A listed building and the owner who lives abroad is not taking care of it. We are also not responsible for the upkeep of the main road or the river that flows through the glen.
The light chain in the bar area is not a look alike Christmas decoration but please take the time and visit us in December where you will see what Christmas decorations are and if you wish you could stay at the end of November and help us to put them up, after that we could have a wee dram together or a glass of wine!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having read many of the previous reviews we were a little unsure what to expect. The hotel does seem a little run down from the exterior and the building (which does not belong to the hotel) next door does not help this impression. The interior is a little dated but has a certain kind of charm that we liked.But not for you if you prefer modern hotels.However the owners do make up for some of this. The evening meal was lovely and the breakfast very good. We would stay again despite the slight 'run down' feel overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 120Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
16 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tyndrum
563 reviews
5.9 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,020 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 10 in Crianlarich
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luib Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luib Hotel

Address: A85 between Killin and Crianlarich | Glen Dochart, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park fk20 8qt, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Crianlarich
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luib Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small friendly hotel in the beautiful Trossachs area, full of character and charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Luib Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luib Hotel Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing