We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay!”
Review of Ewich House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ewich House
Ranked #1 of 10 Crianlarich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We spent two nights at Ewich House and this really was our best stay!
Ian and Deb are very friendly and helpful, so we always knew where to eat or what to do. Our room was lovely and spotless, which applies to the guest lounge and the breakfast room as well.
The breakfast at Ewich House was the best we had during our stay in Scotland: there was a wide choice and whatever we chose was delicious.
So we were really sad wen we we had to leave which is why we are planning on going there again in 2014 :-)

N&R from Düsseldorf

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerbreadPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 807 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Ewich House is in a great location for those travelling to and from the Highlands. It is nicely decorated, the rooms were a good size, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was spot on and the honesty bar and TV room, with such a great supply of DVDs, all added bonuses. My only complaint is the recommendation we were given for dinner. It was simply awful and ruined a night of my holiday. We were sent to the pub a mile away called the Rod and Reel and it was such a disappointing experience. Although the staff and locals were friendly enough, it was a really rough and unpleasant. It felt like a real locals drinking pub and not somewhere to enjoy a nice meal. At one point someone was so drunk they fell over at the bar. There was zero atmosphere and I felt quite intimidated. I made the best of it thinking that maybe there was nowhere else within a reasonable distance, but we left as soon as we could. However, I was bitterly disappointed to learn the next day that there was a fantastic pub a ten minute drive away called the Bridge of Orchy Hotel. I couldn't understand why we hadn't been sent there instead of the Rod and Reel, which was an absolute dive. In my opinion, it showed very bad judgement on the part of Ewich's owners, who I can only assume are friends with the owners of local pub, as I can think of no other reason why you would send someone there for dinner. It completely wrote off what, if we had gone to the Bridge of Orchy - as we did for lunch the next day - could have been an enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eleanorlavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Ewich House on our way to the Highlands in October this year. This was our third stay with Debbie and Ian and once again they made us feel very welcome. After an evening meal in the pub in Crianlarich we relaxed in comfort in the guest lounge with a DVD from the extensive collection. The next morning we enjoyed an excellent cooked breakfast the set us up nicely for the second leg of our journey to Applecross.
Ewich House is a well appointed and homely country house. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. It's proximity to the Highlands makes it an perfect stopping off point for long journeys and short stays.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Ewich House is in a great area for Loch Lomond and the surrounding Trossach Park. Crianlarich itself is very small, but there are numerous villages where local pubs offering good Scottish food can be found.
The B&B is set against a beautiful mountain backdrop, and the house is a lovely old farmhouse style building.
We were warmly welcomed by Ian and given a tour of the house, introduced to the friendly animals and told about local attractions/ pubs etc to visit.
The house is lovely inside - there is a breakfast room, a guest living room complete with fireplace and tv (and a multitude of dvds to be borrowed on wet evenings in). The room we stayed in was a double and it was lovely - very spacious with an extremely comfortable bed and thick duvet (perfect for the rainy season we visited in). There was a nice sized ensuite bathroom. The room was cosy and comfortable and very quiet.
For breakfast there is a large offering of freshly cooked Scottish breakfast (and they mean "full" when they say it!), delicious hot porridge, cereals and various other items, as well as freshly brewed filter coffee, juice etc.
All in all, the B&B was lovely - comfortable, really well priced, with a delicious breakfast, but it is Ian and his wife that make the stay so pleasant. They were lovely to talk to, very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed.
I would highly recommend staying here during a trip through Scotland, and we shall definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Ewich House stop was half way through a WHW break and was greatly appreciated. Firstly our pre-shipped bags were placed in the rooms prior to arrival and secondly we were transported into (relative) civilisation by Ian (our host) when no taxi was available. This, along with the friendly atmosphere and great breakfast constituted the 'extra mile' which makes an ordinary B&B something better. Pleasant surroundings, a comfortable communal room and a good bed........ what is there not to like?
Full marks and 5 stars, Ian!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After a day walking the West Highland Way in the rain in September this year we arrived at Ewich House both wet and weary. We were met warmly at the door by Ian and welcomed inside (even though we had arrived early), and Ian immediately made arrangements to dry our boots and wet walking gear. We then went up to our rooms, which were first class, and after a nice hot shower had drinks and watched a video in the warm and comfortable guest sitting room while it rained outside. Next morning we enjoyed one of the best breakfasts available (thanks Deb) before setting off on our walk with warm dry boots, socks, and walking gear.

No matter if you are walking the Way, or travelling in Scotland by bicycle, motorcycle, or car, we have no hesitation in recommending a stay at Ewich House with Ian and Deb as your friendly hosts.

Shakespeare007

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose Ewich House at random on a Google search, liked their website. The attitude of the owners fully matches the promise of the website. The house is set in beautiful grounds, sufficiently distant from the quiet road to shut off what little traffic noise there is. The rooms are clean, comfortable, fully stocked with accessories, warm and charming. Bed is comfortable, breakfast is generous and cooked to order with both carnivores and vegitores fully catered for! These are people who enjoy and take pride in their cooking.

The owners enjoy what they do and are quite clearly dedicated to providing an excellent service. We stopped there again on our return trip and had the same experience.

We have stayed in many one night stopovers over the years and Ewich House was one of the best. This is the first time I have been disposed to write a review. This was an excellent start and end to our holiday in Scotland. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in twin room first visit, double on second. Both equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.8 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
2.8 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tyndrum
563 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#2 of 34 in Callander
339 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 10 in Crianlarich
173 reviews
20 mi away
Culag Lochside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ewich House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ewich House

Address: Strathfillan, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crianlarich
Price Range: $91 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ewich House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ewich House Hotel Crianlarich
Ewich House Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing