We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seeing is believing....and experiencing....”
Review of Portnellan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portnellan
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Seeing is believing....and experiencing....”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Portnellan was a great find after scrabbling around trying to find a late booking for the end of July.
Portnellan and it's lodges and the location did not disappoint.
'Raven' lodge was great - with fantastic views - something that you do not get bored of looking at.
It's spacious, well equipped (better than any other type of lodge we've stayed previously in other location).
Cameron and Elaine welcomed us warmly on our arrival.
It's a great place if you love the outdoors, with walking, fishing, canoeing, rowing, swimming (if you want in the river or loch), and mountain biking, and that's the facilities that are on offer there.
The weather was pretty good throughout, even Scotland is taking part in the Great British Summer of 2013.
As always, common sense prevails, so take other clothing to be prepared, as the weather closes in quickly. Enjoy the views, fresh air, and the fresh water from Ben More.
For those that haven't been to this part of the world before - beware of the midges - they are lethal,,,,, a little secret that we learnt is to use 'Avon - Skin So Soft' .... You must be mad I hear you say...... not so,,,, told to us by our Military Services family members. It's legendary !!!!
Portnellan is also a great place to base yourself if you're going off to visit other areas.
Make use of the free delivery service for groceries on your arrival (that's the delivery that's free - not the groceries).

My one and only small criticism - is the wifi in the lodge, was a bit hit and miss.
Not a major issue, as we wanted to be away from it all - but you always want your little fix every now and then.....
The bed also was a little hard for our liking, but we're not as active as some folk, so maybe we're just a bit more delicate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    23
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
60
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been here with family for one week in July and we have been absolutely impressed. Cameron gave us warm welcome and all necesery advises, everything with huge smile. The place is beautiful and perfect position for any trip you want to make in Scotland.
The breathtaking views, cozy and realy well-equipped cottage, beautiful nature all around. Quiet and restful place for all, even you want to hike around or just rest under Ben More...

Plus one tip for trip... drive to Oban and at the Ferry Terminal buy tickets to Three Isles trip...it is one day trip to Isle Of Mull, then Iona and Staffa... It was one of the most beautiful trip during our stay...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tery243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Portnellan has got it right. Beautiful, comfortable and well equipped lodges, amazing views, the lovely Cameron on hand to offer suggestions and lend us the bbq on one of Scotland's most gloriously sunny days! We're quite a sporty family, and its the perfect location for some quite serious triathlon training straight from the front door of the lodge. There are bikes on hand, mountains on your doorstep, and a safe loch to swim / kayak the length of. Sitting with a beer on the decking at the front of the lodge overlooking Ben More as the sun goes down got rid of the last vestiges of city stresses. We wished we could have stayed longer, and we'll definitely be back with the rest of the family.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Being impressed by the attractive description and beautiful location of this very near by getaway, my partner & I seized the opportunity to visit this incredible & visually stunning location which is home to sublime self catering chalets just one hour away from Glasgow

We booked the Ghillies - it's most prestige chalet which left us nearly speechless at the views as well as the quality of service & surrounds

The chalet itself was to die for,down to the Jacuzzi & Sauna in the bottom floor en-suite

Cameron, the chap in charge, was on hand to welcome us early as he had specifically arranged cleaners to come in early because we were arriving early and welcomed us at reception with warmth and smile

Once we stepped onto the top floor balcony, I was immediately grateful for the beautiful scenery which I took stock of, just simply stunning

This has to be a 'to be continued' review because we are simply going back - it's like another world up there

Peaceful, tranquillity and beauty surrounded us - what more along with a nice glass of wine and a bbq in the heart of Scotland could we ask for!

Thank-you Cameron, we will be back and soon!

Room Tip: For bigger families of 6 +, I would recommend the Ghillies Lodge There are smaller lodges and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekAR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We come here for the last 15 years now, and never reviewed Portnellan Lodges. So here we go.

We always stay in Heron Lodge, which is a very cosy lodge, with all the equipment you need.
It has a brand new kitchen, a flat screen, a very nice terrace with the evening-sun (in summer from 16.00 until late) and a place to enjoy the morning-sun (yes, believe it or not, we have often sun, when we are in Scotland).

The surroundings are just perfect, with a loch and a river to fish and ben's to climb, from just the lodge. Cameron is a very gentle host and he does the most to give you your perfect holiday.

As we are golf-fanatics, this place is fantastic. Within a 1 hour drive, you had at least 20 courses to play on. As a bonus, when you drive tot he course, you have the beautiful surroundings. Check the Perthshire-golfticket. Extremely good value for money (45 Pound for 3 greenfees), and lovely gems (Killin, Comrie) to play.

We also like to cycle (mountain-bike rentals at Portnellan and Killin), to walk (a lot of short walks available), to go to the pub (Drovers Inn and Falls of Dochart Inn are within 15 minutes) and to visit all those nice places (Luss, Killin, Glen Coe, Oban, Inveraray, Callander, Crieff, Pitlochry, Perth, Edinburgh, Fort William and so on).

As you probably assume after reading this review, it is most likely that we stay at Portnellan Lodges the next 15 years as well.

We hope that you enjoy Heron Lodge as much as we do. Have a nice holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great lodge (we stayed in Pinemarten) in a truely breathtaking location. If you can tear yourselves away from the fabulous views, there is plenty to see and do straight from your doorstep. Cameron is the perfect host and takes the time to talk to his guests and is always available to offer ideas and to share stories. There are several places to eat and drink nearby although the lodges are very well equiped if you want to rustle up something yourself. We enjoyed walks locally, including Ben More, part of the West Highland Way around Tynedrum (great fish and chips in the Real Food Cafe), the lost valley in Glen Coe, as well as visiting Killin (falls of Dochart) and Callender. We also had plenty of relaxation time in and around the lodge. Our two teenagers both enjoyed this holiday (nice to have access to wifi and sky football package in the lodge) and the whole family would certainly recommend a stay here at Portnellan.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ATSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay! The lodge was clean comfortable and well equipped. The views were stunning, particularly due to the arrival of snow a few days earlier. Lodges are well separated so very quiet and private. Great location for exploring further afield (Glen Coe, Fort William, Be Nevis, Oban, etc.) or the locality. Cameron was very friendly /helpful. The lodge / venue made a big contribution to a lovely relaxing but active Easter break. Would definitely recommend a holiday at Portnellan.

Room Tip: Pick a lodge further up the slope/hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
17.1 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
14.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
17.4 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
905 reviews
5.3 mi away
Luib Hotel
Luib Hotel
#2 of 4 in Crianlarich
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portnellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portnellan

Property: Portnellan
Address: Portnellan Glen Dochart, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Portnellan 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portnellan. Where memories are made. This years finalist for the Visitscotland's Thistle Award in the category "Best Self Catering in Scotland" for our region. Portnellan has a 'Certificate of Excellence' from Tripadvisor for the fifth year running with over 190 reviews from guests. A tasteful collection of 4 and 5 star self catering holiday properties owned and run by the Taylor family for over 35 years. Located just outside the picturesque village of Crianlarich within the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. A great central location for touring and visiting many of Scotland's attractions and adventure. All properties are positioned thoughtfully on a small private estate with sensational views of loch, glen and mountains. There are many activities onsite to enjoy including free use of rowing boats, Canadian canoes, kayaks and estate loch and river fishing. In addition there is an on site visitors centre with a small essentials shop, fresh organic meat (perfect for BBQing or home cooking), local information, board games and DVDs. Mountain bikes, clay pigeon shooting, WiFi, SKY TV package and BBQ hire are also available. All properties are tastefully appointed to 4 and 5 star standard varying in size from 1 to 5 bedroom with stunning views across the loch, mountain and glen. Other features include Egyptian Cotton bed linen and king size beds with pocket sprung mattresses. Some properties even have sauna and spa bath. There are even fresh eggs available from our hand reared chickens (when laying). This beautiful accommodation is available for short breaks, weeks or longer all year round. A family business for over 30 years proud of their Highland hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Portnellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portnellan Hotel Crianlarich
Portnellan Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing