We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hosts but dated rooms, needs renovation”
Review of Glenardran House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crianlarich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenardran House
Ranked #4 of 10 Crianlarich B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hosts but dated rooms, needs renovation”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here earlier this year for one night. The hosts are warm and welcoming - enjoyed our first Bed & Breakfast experience. Although the house is next to the main road, it wasn't very busy or noisy at night. Breakfast was good, with generous portions / good choices.

However, the place is in need of an upgrade - the room we stayed in was a bit dated and also needed cleaning - spiders behind the curtains! The owners have put up the business for sale - not sure if this was the reason why they're not renovating it. The spring bed was a bit uncomfortable.

A bit pricey and we actually have had better stays at Travelodges for lower prices!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Springdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philjhCrianlarich, Owner at Glenardran House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for saying we’re warm and welcoming and the breakfast was good. We’d have preferred it if you’d stopped the review there.

What a shame reviewers such as this prefer to hide behind the anonymity of review sites rather than address any issues at the time of their visit. Having been full the majority of the month of September, and indeed through the majority of the Summer months, we haven’t the faintest idea who you are, when you stayed or which room you were in.

Yes, the property/business is on the market for sale as we wish to be nearer our family (children and grandchildren) but it’s of no benefit to us whatsoever if we let standards slip. Suggesting spiders behind a curtain is due to a lack of cleaning is an insult. We tend to find it useful at times to open windows and air the rooms. Guests also sometimes like to have the windows open. Was checking for spiders behind the curtains the first thing you did when entering the room? So, spiders behind a curtain lead you to mark us down to 2/5 ‘poor’ for cleaning. Somewhat unfair I’d say. No idea about your reference to an ‘uncomfortable spring bed’. We have beds and they have springs in, perhaps it just wasn’t the same mattress you have at home.

Please don’t compare us to Travelodges! If you want a Travelodge experience then book into one. It’ll be furnished differently and may indeed be cheaper, that’s what Travelodges do. Price-wise, we’re ‘right’ for this area. You booked the room, you knew the price. Could you have got a similar room for less in the area? … no, thought not. This is a Victorian house which is both our home and business. As such we prefer to furnish it/dress it in keeping with its age. Obviously you prefer ‘bland’ as it appears to be your opinion if it doesn’t look like a Travelodge inside then it’s in need of updating/renovation. Oh dear that’s quite sad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    58
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
57
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in this B&B on our first night in Scotland. As soon as we arrived, we have been welcomed and advised on what to see and were to eat in the area. Not the best room I have stayed in, however it was big, quiet and clean so fair enough.

Breakfast was rich and good, we had the chance to engage with the hosts and other guests and we got plenty of nice suggestions on our future destinations!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoReffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This review is, regrettably, more than a year (May 2012) overdue! However, that said, not only is this review 'better late than never', but it its tardiness is also a testament as to just how much my wife and I appreciated the hospitality we received by hosts Phil and Wendy.

My wife and I were visiting from the west coast in Canada and we spent one night at Glenardran House. The room was spotless and cozy. The full-English breakfast was excellent and set us up perfectly for our day's sojourn.

We really appreciated Phil and Wendy's wonderful hospitality. Many thanks to them for adding to what proved to be one of our best vacations ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayJacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was really nice welcome by Wendy and Phil in Crianlarich when we found out they have one last room for us :-) The room was very cosy and comfortable with big ensuite bathroom. The house is pretty and the breakfast was very nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Day 3 of The West Highland Way.
Very nice friendly welcome.
My room was a little on the small side, there was just enough room to put my suitcase on the floor and no hooks or anything anywhere to hang jackets up.
The room was very clean and tidy.
The breakfast was very good and plenty of it, the packed lunch provided was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philjhCrianlarich, Owner at Glenardran House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
'nowhere to hang anything' ............ all our rooms, not surprisingly, have a wardrobe !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After driving for hours we arrived in Crianlarich and decided to find somewhere to stay for the night, we stopped at the Glenardran House and were greeted by a very friendly Wendy. We asked the main questions that were key; is there a double room, is there WIFI, is there parking and what was the rate - all our criteria were met.

The room was large and comfortable with a nice en suite. Wendy took the time to show us everything, she was very helpful and comprehensive. Breakfast the next morning was good, even had a vegetarian option. Wendy noted that it was just her on her own as her other half was away, and she did very well keeping everyone happy.

The only room for improvement is the WIFI, in our room we couldn't get any reception and Wendy explained it was because our room was at the front of the house and WIFI hub was based in the back so she suggested we go into the dining room to get reception which we were happy to do, but even in the dining room it was the same - reception was low and kept dropping out. In the larger scheme of things its not a major but on this occasion we really needed WIFI access which is why we asked from the outset. Otherwise I can't fault our stay and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I arrived here late in the afternoon after a 22 mile walk and the super friendly welcome was much appreciated (Phil & Wendy I think but it was 3 weeks ago I got back). Rooms fairly simple but perfectly fine for a walkers needs and best of all there was a BATH!! Great breakfast and I left refreshed and restored. Thank you both very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityMan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 10 in Crianlarich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
#3 of 4 in Crianlarich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenardran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenardran House

Property: Glenardran House
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenardran House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenardran House is situate within the village of Crianlarich, central to all amenities which are just a few minutes walk away ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenardran House Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing