We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue, room a little small”
Review of Glenardran House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crianlarich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenardran House
Ranked #4 of 10 Crianlarich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice venue, room a little small”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Day 3 of The West Highland Way.
Very nice friendly welcome.
My room was a little on the small side, there was just enough room to put my suitcase on the floor and no hooks or anything anywhere to hang jackets up.
The room was very clean and tidy.
The breakfast was very good and plenty of it, the packed lunch provided was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philjhCrianlarich, Owner at Glenardran House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
'nowhere to hang anything' ............ all our rooms, not surprisingly, have a wardrobe !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    60
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
62
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After driving for hours we arrived in Crianlarich and decided to find somewhere to stay for the night, we stopped at the Glenardran House and were greeted by a very friendly Wendy. We asked the main questions that were key; is there a double room, is there WIFI, is there parking and what was the rate - all our criteria were met.

The room was large and comfortable with a nice en suite. Wendy took the time to show us everything, she was very helpful and comprehensive. Breakfast the next morning was good, even had a vegetarian option. Wendy noted that it was just her on her own as her other half was away, and she did very well keeping everyone happy.

The only room for improvement is the WIFI, in our room we couldn't get any reception and Wendy explained it was because our room was at the front of the house and WIFI hub was based in the back so she suggested we go into the dining room to get reception which we were happy to do, but even in the dining room it was the same - reception was low and kept dropping out. In the larger scheme of things its not a major but on this occasion we really needed WIFI access which is why we asked from the outset. Otherwise I can't fault our stay and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I arrived here late in the afternoon after a 22 mile walk and the super friendly welcome was much appreciated (Phil & Wendy I think but it was 3 weeks ago I got back). Rooms fairly simple but perfectly fine for a walkers needs and best of all there was a BATH!! Great breakfast and I left refreshed and restored. Thank you both very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityMan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My Mom and I stayed at this lovely B+B for one night in May on our Scotland tour. The rooms were very spacious, clean and bright, and the bathroom worked well. The breakfast that comes with the room is fabulous, huge and tasty. The beds were comfy, and the view of the surrounding hills and sky were stunning. The hosts were warm and friendly and made for good conversation. Overall we were very happy and sorry we couldn't stay another night.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, west side on north side of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a short but rather cold, wet stretch of the West Highland Way from Tarbet to Crianlarich, we were delighted to be warmly greeted by Phil and Wendy at 2.30pm. We had thought we might have to stay out in the cold a bit longer as we were earlier than we expected, probably the brisk pace we set to keep warm. Masses of hot water (just what walkers need at the end of the day) and a bath that was long enough to lie down in followed by cup of tea and biscuits in our room. Delightful view over the garden and to the hills behind the house although next day these were covered in snow in May. We very much enjoyed our excellent full Scottish breakfast preceded by porridge and fruit juice. Since it was a rest day we took the local train to Oban where we enjoyed a windswept day and delicious local seafood at the Waterfront Restaurant (*** lunch for £11.99). Strongly recommend staying at Glenardran if you are on the West Highland Way or merely touring Scotland.

Room Tip: I loved the back bedroom with a view over the garden full of birds and the mountains. Very peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppalackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having travelled from St. Helens Merseyside we stayed at Glenardran House on a journey to Skye recently and stayed there again on the return trip. On both occasions we found the host and hostess Phil and Wendy to be very friendly, the room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent.I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a bed-and-breakfast; we got bed and breakfast. The rooms are spotlessly clean, warm and well prepared. We arrived late because of bad weather and snow on the West Highland Way, and were shown round the rooms, and booked for breakfast. The pub next door was closed, and we were directed to another restaurant. Not the best overnight stay of our six days away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outremer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philjhCrianlarich, Owner at Glenardran House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
somewhat surprised by the review ........... why do you recommend 'don't go to Crianlarich in March' ? Why a '3' out of '5' for service - what did we do wrong??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
252 reviews
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#3 of 10 in Crianlarich
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Crianlarich Youth Hostel
#3 of 4 in Crianlarich
66 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenardran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenardran House

Property: Glenardran House
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenardran House is situate within the village of Crianlarich, central to all amenities which are just a few minutes walk away ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenardran House Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing