We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“P!ss poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“P!ss poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

On a road trip round Scotland my boyfriend booked us into here on our first night, having eaten at the pub 10 years earlier. We stayed in the last available wooden cabin, because they had failed to register our reservation made 1 month earlier. I have never seen anywhere so disgustingly dirty. The room smelt of stale urine, which we initially thought came from the bathroom as that carpet had thick greasy dust all around the toilet. The room was a twin but the beds were pushed together to make a "double", revealing similar levels of dust, fluff and toe nail clippings under where the bed used to be. We placed one quilt on the floor so as not to have to walk on the carpet. Half way through the night we realised the smell of stale urine was coming from the bed and not the bathroom and it took all my powers of persuasion to prevent my boyfriend sleeping in the car. At no point did we dare turn out the lights in case the owners of the numerous webs, got hungry.
Quite unexpectedly the food was good but the tables had a very strange sticky coating on them that went an opaque colour when wet from a beer glass.
Thankfully our next 3 places to stay were amazing, especially Plockton hotel, and this first miserable night passed into distant memory, never to be visited again

  • Liked — Leaving it and seeing it in our review mirror
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerTotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    76
    25
    12
    38
See reviews for
46
103
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Thankfully I did not stay over. My family and I just had an evening meal at the lodge which was totally overprized and without any taste! According to me it was a ripoff to pay for a meal enough to feed a little bird!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crianlarich hotels

maidenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

visited again over the new year 3 day package, absolutely brilliant 3 days, everything was organised, food was great, staff were great. The box of bannanas(group) played the house down absolutely packed. my son and daughter absolutely loved it.

  • Liked — Friendlyness, invest being spent within the hotel and grounds, taking a guitar off the wall and playing it and everybody in the bar singing
  • Disliked — only up there for 3 days
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bertyboymaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

We decided on a last minute (highly unorganised) skiing trip to Scotland on Friday night and had a quick browse on the internet. Four BnB's turned us away as we would be arriving late but on calling Ben More Lodge everything was "No problem". We even arrived later than expected and still it was, "No problem at all". On arrival (having received excellent directions and advice on the route) we were made to feel very very welcome and encouraged to sit in by a roaring log fire whilst we chatted about the area and all that it offered. We were helped with our enquiry's about where to ski and how the weather might be, and the owners knew everything and anything there was to know about the local area.

We slept in a toasty warm Lodge with a huge bed, plenty tea and coffee stuff and the TV on, ready for us. Breakfast was legendary, we didn't need to eat again until tea time and we could see the food was was local produce, the meat/dairy carefully chosen reflecting the experience and knowledge of the chef and the owner.

We felt like family members immediately and imagine our astonishment when we were offered the owners 4x4 Jeep to ensure we got to our destination that first day. Their efforts to make our short break as enjoyable as possible were unlimited despite our own lack of organisation and decision-making!

After a hard days skiing, and a fabulous hot shower in our Lodge (they had even thought to put the heating on well ahead of our return so that the chalet was toasty warm) we ordered dinner in the bar. A varied and interesting menu was on offer, from traditional Scottish fayre to home made pakora's and curry. Servings were generous, perfect after a days ski-ing but plates were cleared as it was so delicious! The food was so fresh and meat juicy and tender, and again nothing was too much trouble for them in ensuring our enjoyment.

Local visitors to the bar were friendly and welcoming, providing advice on local "hidden treasures' and offering to show us themselves. We were so sad to leave the next day, and felt like we had made some real friends.

The Ben More Lodge will most certainly get another visit from us, and we would have no hesitation in recommending it as a base for a guaranteed superb break in Scotland.

  • Liked — The friendliness and care provided by the owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FinDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

this place is brill, we went for hogmanny really enjojed it.Our son is 10 he had the best new year yet and so did we.food excell, staff so friendly .Dont go if you want to dress up for a candelite dining experiance , it is home from home and that is how you feel no front what you see is what you get really great!will go back especially for the curry.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — no reception area
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ajfDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2007

Have read most of these reviews, mostly 2/3 years old, the other few are from suits.

I have stayed there 3 times this year and have to say I am an absolute fan, this plaice aint for everyone, if you were a suit go to the Tarbet Hotel at a rate of £88 pppn, but if you want excellent food, great atmosphere and fine Scottidh music served by local staff give it a try, the last weekend I stayed there was 4 other couples returning for a weekend away.

Having spoke to the owner he has said that when he bought the hotel it suffered the same cross to bear as many others lack of investment and people looking to make a quick buck, this guy has put a lot of money into this plaice and will continue to do so, he was sold out June, August and September this year, which had never ever been done before.

So if you fancy a real good night out and you dont wear a suit, give it a try.

  • Liked — friendliness, owner prepared to talk to you
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fordcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

I have travelled all over the world but I have been forced to write my first review I have seen some of the negative reviews [have they stayed in this hotel? have they even been to Scotland?] the first thing that gets you is the view [the hotel is surrounded by mountains and a river close by] and the second thing is the warm welcome from the minute we got there till the minute we left great food traditional Scottish and that other great tradition Scottish food curry a very large choice and the best out side of Calcutta and they tell me they have won awards for there breakfast it was the only thing I needed to eat all day
In addition, the room was very nice like an old-fashioned log cabin [my 3-year-old son would have been happy to stay there all day with the 30 choices of children’s channels on the TV the friendest hotel I have ever stayed at and if I could only bottle the fresh air, they have there

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — i never stayed long enough
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank john-watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.8 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
15.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
14.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben More Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben More Lodge Hotel

Property: Ben More Lodge Hotel
Address: Stirling Road, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ben More Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben More Hotel Crianlarich
Ben More Lodge Hotel Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing