We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish - detoured because of the signs - it was shut.”

Crianlarich Station Tearoom
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Crianlarich Station Tearoom is a friendly cafe located at Crianlarich Train Station, on the West Highland Way.We cater for walkers, train passangers, road traffic and anyone else that wishes to come and visit us!We also do stamps for the West Highland Way passport, so stop in for a nice hot drink and we will stamp your passport (or you can get it stamped for free, of course!)
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rubbish - detoured because of the signs - it was shut.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

If you put up signs advertising your business then please make it clear that you are shut. Only the sign in the station revealed you were shut. All the others lured in the innocent unsuspecting public.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank adrkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, disappointing food.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were looking forward to lunch here after a day's walking, but the menu was limited, the toasties unexciting and the soup pretty thin and watery. This coupled with the toilets being out of order necessitating a ten minute walk to the public toilets in the centre of Crianlarich, it was a memorable lunch stop, but not for the right reasons unfortunately!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Depressing.”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I just think that a place that calls itself a tea room ought to serve tea, not a mug of hot water with a tea bag lying alongside it. The smell of over-used cooking fat hit us as soon as we opened the door and clung to us for the rest of the day. The only positive things I can say are that the railway memorabilia was interesting, and the milk wasn't UHT.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOLVERHAMPTON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“GOING BACK A LONG WAY”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Tell you what its been 30 years there or there abouts ,wonder if the girl from the boathouse is still around , nothing beat a cup of tea while listening to terry wogan on the radio first thjing of a morning while going up and down west highland line on the trains...............happy days

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIKE-JONES66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely station tea-rooms”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My favourite train journey over Rannoch Moor to Crianlarich can just about be done with a lunch stop at the tea-rooms before getting back on to return to Fort William. This scenery is amazing and I have done this trip a couple of times now, as I enjoy it so much.

There is a gap of about 50 minutes before the return train so plenty of time to have a snack or something hot. When I was there last year there was a piper on the station.

A good variety of snacks and drinks to choose from while waiting for the return journey and time to enjoy the sceneray around the station.

I will definitely go back again when in that area, and look forward to it very muich - everyone was so friendly, both in the tea rooms and the train staff on both journeys.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dopeydorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crianlarich Station Tearoom also viewed

Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Crianlarich Station Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing