We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B, but what about the wifi?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crianlarich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigbank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Crianlarich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was our first B&B in our trip to Scotland. Charlie, the host, gave us a warm welcome and answer all of our questions.
The room had nicely decor and was spotless but very tiny (but it wasn't a problem since we had only 1 night stay).
Breakfast was wonderful, big and tasty, served in lovely porch.
The only things that bother us - was the WIFI signal, you can have signal only in one specific spot in the lounge and the signal is weak and unstable. We wasn't able to email our family to let them know we landed safely.
Other than that - It was a wonderful stay !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Craigbank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The house is very nice decorated, there's ample place for parking and it is easy to find. Breakfast was fine. But the room to the front was very noisy, I had to use ear plugs, even in the middle of the night there's a lot of traffic. Besides, the single room isn't too big, with your luggage inside you have to clamber about a lot. Crianlarich is quite small, two pubs and a shop, so there's not too much choice where to eat. Strange I found that the owners are offering a beautiful brochure about the West Highland Way, but you have to pay 5 £ for it. They say the money goes to a charity (which one?), but I think this brochure should be regarded as a tourism instrument that brings new guests, and so there shouldn't be any charge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnBlascaodMhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie u, Owner at Craigbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for Craigbank Guest House and we were sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations due to room size and road noise. Our experience has shown that the vast majority of single occupancy guests prefer the comfort of a double bed in the single room, albeit with a slight reduction in floor space, and to date this configuration has proved very popular with all but a few guests.
With regards to the road noise, we have attempted to minimise any possible disruption to our guests by installing modern double glazing, fitting double lined curtains and sound insulation where possible which greatly reduces any external noise. Unfortunately that week, due to road closures, there was a diversion in place which greatly increased the overnight flow of traffic through the village. If you had raised the issue during your two day stay we would have attempted to resolve the problem by either moving you to another room or helping you to find alternative accommodation.
I would also like to clarify the situation regarding the 'Beauty of Scotland' West Highland Way brochure which is displayed for sale in the lounge. This brochure is supplied to us from an independent photographer/publisher at a cost of £3.50 with a recommended average retail price of £7. We sell the brochure at the reduced cost of £5 with all proceeds destined for our chosen charity ‘Help for Heroes’, the British Armed Forces charity which amongst other activities supports those servicemen injured whilst on duty. I can assure you that to the best of my knowledge this brochure is not provided free of charge or at a lower price at any other establishment.
If you still wish to obtain a copy of the brochure it is available from the internet at a retail price of £5.99 which does not include postage and packaging.

Charlie Urquhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very clean, updated, hospitality second to none. Our room was small but had everything in it.
Charlie the host was very hospitable and advised us on where to eat and where to walk.

Breakfast was all you could wish, cereals, fruit, fruit juice followed by a full Scottish and lashings of toast and coffee.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back as the house is on a busy road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Warm and welcoming you would have to travel a long way to find a better B&B than here at Craigbank. Our double room with its firm and comfortable queen sized bed at the back of house was very clean including an ensuite bathroom to cover all your needs. The very reasonable rates include choice of breakfast served informally in a bright and well situated conservatory.
Charlie is the perfect host and ensures you enjoy your stay. We would certainly recommend and would like to use again as its location is central to the many places of our interest.
We eat dinner at the Crianlarich Hotel (Best Western) only 5-10 mins walk away splendid choice for food and bar

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Yes, it is as compact as the other reviewers say but although the beds are large for the rooms you spend most of your time here in one of them and I have to give them top marks for comfort and cleanliness. Despite the fact that the weather was not always good during my three night stay and people came in (including ourselves) out of the rain the whole place was kept ship-shape at all times. The cooked breakfasts were hot and fresh and, in short, it was an excellent base.

The host, Charlie, was friendly, upbeat and efficient right from the moment of the phone call to book the stay and my travelling companions and some fellow guests remarked on his astonishing aptitude for making all guests feel welcome and appreciated.

During our stay we ate every evening at the Crianlarich Hotel which is a five minute stroll away, near the railway station. This delighted every time and so we went away feeling that we had had the best of everything; great accommodation and breakfasts at Craigbank and the evenings superbly catered for by the Crianlarich Hotel. Everyone seemed cheerful and overall it was an experience to be recommended and repeated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our journey through to Fort William from Glasgow. Incredibly friendly hosts making you feel really welcome. Lovely clean room- we had the twin at the front as all other rooms taken! The bathroom was a slight squeeze but very clean. The only thing I'd say is the two local pubs for dinner have something to be desired- I wouldn't recommend the Rod and the Peel- terrible atmosphere and stroppy barmaid. The other pun further down the road is better but from chatting to other guests at breakfast it appears that the hotel is the best place to eat in the evening. Wouldn't stay long in Crainlairch itself - it just didn't appeal to me. Fab B&B though and would recommend it for passing through.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Return visit at the end of my holiday. Warm & comfy bed as always. Lovely clean smelling bed linen. Friendly welcome & great breakfast. I will be back again. This is good value for the solo traveller where you don't suddenly get stung for extra money at checkout. Love the location as easy to get to & from places with Glencoe almost on your door step

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ewich House
Ewich House
#1 of 10 in Crianlarich
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inverardran Guest House
Inverardran Guest House
#4 of 10 in Crianlarich
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suie Lodge Hotel
Suie Lodge Hotel
#5 of 10 in Crianlarich
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muthu Dalmally Hotel
Muthu Dalmally Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dalmally
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigbank Guest House

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crianlarich
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigbank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Craigbank Guest House Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing