We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice menu, not much atmosphere”

The Crianlarich Hotel Restaurant
Price range: $22 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel's flagship restaurant can be found in the Highland Lounge. The restaurant has been awarded one Rosette by the UK's AA food guide and has won a number of accolades at the Scottish Hotel Awards in recent years. Our menu showcases high quality, local ingredients and is prepared with imagination and flare. The restaurant provides an informal yet high quality dining experience and is open year round. Non-residents are particularly welcome - please call ahead to be sure of securing a table.
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice menu, not much atmosphere”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My friends and I ate here on a recent visit to Crianlarich. Nice menu with good vegetarian selection, but the dining room was vast and somewhat lacking in atmosphere and sadly the service was pretty mediocre. The food was nice enough, but nothing to write home about.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    62
    26
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“better than expected”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were moved to this hotel when there was a problem at the Bridge of Orchy hotel, after our third day on the WHW.
We didn't fancy it when they said we were being transferred there, but it was fine, and the food was better than we expected.
Breakfast in the morning was very good indeed.
So apologies for our previous perceptions of this aged and dated hotel, but once there it served our needs and the staff were very helpful

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good room, breakfast awful, organisation poor”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We've just had a weekend away at the Best Western, Crianlarich via Groupon. There are three of us & two dogs. We had a family room with three beds, plenty room for all our trappings! The bathroom was very nice, everything you needed really.
We were told that breakfast was served until 1030 so we arrived on the first morning at 0945. The choices Juice, cereal in little boxes, toast & cooked food that was it. No fruit, yoghurt, pastries, porridge, no sign of offering anything else. The girl asked if we'd like tea but then didn't bring the cups or milk so we'd to ask her again. We followed everyone else and went to serve ourselves. The cooked food is in servers where you roll the lid back to reveal the contents. It's pot luck whats in them or in most cases what had been in them. If you'd been given a clue it might have helped you avoid something you didn't want. In the first one there was one potato scone,at least you knew that's what should've been there. In the other side there was the remains of a tomato, it was empty otherwise. The second was also empty but we learned that it should've contained haggis and black pudding. Next came beans & anaemic looking scrambled egg swimming in water. Lastly there were sausages that were barely browned & clearly cheap bacon. This has to be the worst bacon ever. To start with it was more fat than bacon, then like the egg, it was swimming in water, it was pale and completely unappealable, it was almost steaming in the water. (Where were the fried eggs or mushrooms, or at least the offer of frying an egg?)
We returned to our seats and then realised there was also no butter or milk, so we'd to ask again.
We thought maybe arriving at 0945 meant we caught the tail end of breakfast. Then we saw someone being served a fried egg! & someone with black pudding!, so now we realised that for a fried egg you'd to order one. We were last to leave, in that time no more cooked food arrived and we were never offered more tea, yes we could've asked but it's about the service too. If you've paid for B & B you expect decent food & decent service.
Day two wasn't much better but there were croissants & Danish pastries, now where were they the day before, we guessed we'd missed them! There was a yoghurt, must've missed those yesterday too & also an empty bowl of fruit salad. One of the girls was nearby & offered to get more fruit salad if we wanted it, why wasn't this just automatically refilled instead of just left there?
Today we had got the gist of it and we ordered porridge for my mum. It came but with no extra milk, so we asked for it. Then I stood & waited for more cooked food as again the servers were either empty or low on contents. In the end I'd to ask, the young lass told me it would arrive. Eventually she brought more potato scones & tomatoes, we'd waited 15 minutes. I got up to get the food only to find that there was a small mound of haggis left in a corner of server two and the solid end of a solitary piece of black pudding, can these servers not all have food in them at once? We sat down again to wait so we could have all the food at once but then the fried egg arrived! By now 25 minutes had passed & we wanted to be off so we just had the egg, an anaemic sausage, tomato & potato scone. This was heaped onto our 7 inch tiny plate, why can't they use normal sized dinner plates or are they worried you might end up with too much food? - fat chance when the servers are empty!! We still had no tea so that finally arrived, then we'd to ask for cups again as the table only had one but we had two extra saucers. We poured the tea and then found she'd not brought the milk. The two young lasses in there were rushed off their feet, constantly clearing and resetting tables. They'd no time to help serve residents, they forgot who'd ordered what, didn't set the tables properly, didn't notice when you'd arrived so it was either ages before they realised you'd no tea or coffee or you'd to grab their attention as the went by, they brought the food to the servers as it came from the kitchen but as it was ready in batches they couldn't help when you asked when the other stuff would be ready, they didn't offer to get you anything else, there was no personal service as they were way too busy and they didn't notice when things were running low.
Another guest who spoke to me commentated on how little food there was & remarked that it had been the same the day before!
Having eaten breakfast in a few B&B's now, including hotels, this was awful. This hotel is a best western for goodness sake how can it be see appallingly bad?
Room was great but no way would we go back to suffer that food again. The service was dreadful too but to be honest, it wasn't the two girls fault, they were too busy sorting tables, there should have been more staff in there. Just one, helping with the food would have assisted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best steak and ale pie ever!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Was very impressed with this even although we were just there for lunch. Staff were friendly and efficient and there are lots of cosy little nooks and crannies for a drink or coffee. I had some delicious soup and a sandwich (very generous portions) and my husband had the steak and ale pie. Now, he is somewhat an expert on steak and ale pies, and was absolutely convinced that this was the best ever. He even said if he had not been in a restaurant he would have drunk the gravy!! Would definitely stop when passing again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Big cut chips and no ketchup!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Not really what we were expecting with more options of Pizza than local produce.

Despite the stuffed roadkill on the walls, Gammon Steak and burgers were all we could get.

The chips were like wedges (although very tasty) but no ketchup?

Would drive past when next in the area I'm afraid.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crianlarich Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Crianlarich Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing