We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Suie Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suie Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Crianlarich B&B and Inns
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed one night after visiting Lock Katrine, had a great time on The Lady of the Lake and a cycle ride. Travelled on to Suie Lodge Hotel, rooms nice, clean and comfortable. Owners were very friendly. We had a lovely meal, they catered very well for a vegatarian and glucose free diet, even making a desert that was not on the menu, all envious when we saw the banana split. Advised us on which castle to visit, thanks as we had a great time. Lovely area, had a great weekend
Karen C.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aj-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuieLodge, Owner at Suie Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was nice to meet you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    21
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
29
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights with my 2 Jack Russells in this family run hotel. The owners could not have been more accommodating or welcoming, towards me and my four legged friends. Lots of places say that they will accommodate pets but they are often not particularly enthusiastic about it and impose so many restrictions that you end up wishing you had not stayed there. Not the case here. Nothing was too much trouble. They even provided a basin of salt water to sooth my aching feet after my endeavours on various Munros. The family that own this hotel have succeeded in creating a lovely relaxed and homely atmosphere which is often sadly missing from so many establishments.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuieLodge, Owner at Suie Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for such a great review, it was lovely to meet you, Minnie and Riley and glad that you all had a good time staying with us. Hope the camping went okay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on day 3 of the West Highland Way which ended in Bridge of Orchy, 20miles away.

The manager in Bridge of Orchy and Suie Lodge could not have done more to make us welcome along the Way as they organised transporting us between the two hotels, supplied us with tea en route and kept the kitchen open to feed us at Suie Lodge!

The owner and her mother waited on us hand and foot, taking our bags in, hanging up our wet clothing and giving me a basin to soak my poorly feet!

Breakfast was fantastic with the whole selection (porridge, cooked breakfast, cereals) on offer and plenty of good quality tea coffee and toast.

I would most highly recommend this hotel for a wee Scottish break!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snico88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuieLodge, Owner at Suie Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We always try to make our guests feel at home and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Comfortable accomodation and very friendly staff but the stay was let down by the very poor food. The vegetable lasgane had literally no vegetables or sauce in it. The meat dish we had was very chewy. As for breakfast...it's a long time since I've seen tinned tomatoes on a menu!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuieLodge, Owner at Suie Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, the title of which could be viewed as incredibly detrimental and more than having a problem with tinned tomatoes.
We are glad to hear that you found the accommodation comfortable but equally disappointed that you did not find your meals up to our usual high standard. It would have been more reasonable to bring it to our attention at the time when something could have been done about it rather than learning about it a little over a month later on a review site.
As for the tinned tomatoes at breakfast....well unfortunately you can't please all of the people all of the time but had you asked a fresh tomato would have been provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been staying here on my Scottish munro bagging trips for the last 5 years and cannot speak recommend it highly enough! You will always find a very warm welcome,so much so that after all this time coming I feel like part of the family.I enjoy my stay so much that I have no problems in using Suie Lodge as a base and driving out upto 2 hrs to do my Munro bagging.Nothing is too much trouble for the guys to improve your stay,wether it's using the drying room,advice on local matters,warm soapy water plus sponge to clean a muddy dog etc.Can't wait to get back.Once you've stayed here you may find yourself hooked!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillGoldthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My second stay here and the welcome was even better second time round! Excellent food, very friendly staff and first-hand advice from the local mountain rescue team about a climb I was doing the next day!
I was introduced to "Bellhaven Scottish Black", a more than adequate substitute for Guinness and the bar was exceptionally well stocked with some excellent malts and wonderful advice to accompany them!
Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingRon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuieLodge, Owner at Suie Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, it is always nice to know that we are getting it right. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times on my way to the highlands. The staff are great, friendly and obliging, good for a chatter about the area. Food nothing extravagant but good sound choice in the evening and the breakfast sets you up for the day. The bar is very well stocked with Scotlands finest! Take an after dinner walk along the disused railway.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnPShipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
6.6 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
18.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
476 reviews
12.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luib Hotel
Luib Hotel
#2 of 4 in Crianlarich
233 reviews
10.0 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
510 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suie Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suie Lodge Hotel

Property: Suie Lodge Hotel
Address: Glendochart | Luib, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Suie Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bookable through our own website. Under new ownership as of May 2017. Lying in an area of outstanding natural beauty approximately 8 miles from Crianlarich and 7 miles from Killin on the A85, the Suie Lodge Hotel is a former hunting lodge built in 1760, situated in attractive 5 acre grounds surrounded by stunning scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Suie Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suie Lodge Hotel Crianlarich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing