We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent vaule, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
yorkshire
1 review
“excellent vaule, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

we booked on the 'skiers special' rate, £40 B&B. This proved to be excellent value. The room was comfortable, with nice toiletries (TV channels a bit hit and miss, but it is in the highlands!) Evening meals are served in the lovely relaxed lounge, heated by log burning stoves. Breakfast was excellent, great fresh fruit salad, and wondeful kippers.
We will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireFlippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review,i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay,apologies for the experience with the tv channels but it sounds like the kippers made up for it!I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    272
    135
    50
    34
See reviews for
141
424
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

This is a little gem of a hotel. We stayed here on a last minute cheapy and got a great b+b deal. Rooms are nice (although shower not as hot as i would have liked) and spacious. Their bar area/dining room is lovely and has got a really nice cosy feel about it, although I do feel that they could make better use of the space in the middle of the floor with other tables and chairs. Food was lovely and very reasonable, it was very busy and we had to wait for a wee while, but the head waiter did inform us of that and we were not bothered in the slightest as the atmosphere was lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel and will look at staying again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny_boy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Thank you for review,my apologies for the shower,it is always important to receive constructive feedback in order that we can constantly improve our guests services.I was pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.My team will be delighted with your comments.Nigel Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Just returned from a couple of days Skiing in Glencoe, we stayed at this Hotel and had a fab time, so glad we booked here to stay as it was excellent!
From the minute we arrived to our departure I could not have found any downfalls and I am a very fussy person, the Hotel was very welcoming and in a perfect location for walking , skiing etc.
just minutes from Loch Lomond and a nice drive to Glencoe ski area,( lots of Deer and other wildlife & beautiful scenery to view on route)...
We had booked a basic room for the ski deal ....a great deal it was too..our room was cosy and clean, the bathroom although basic was clean and all you needed was there for you.
This Hotel provided transport to the ski area which was absolutely brilliant, Jerry the driver was so friendly and nothing was a problem to him... absoloute top guy! but that goes for all the staff at the Crianlarich Hotel as they were all so nice and friendly, not sickly friendly like some are but genuinely friendly and warm, this is a real credit to the Crianlarich Hotel, we were looked after very well and the food is good too... oh! and a toasty warm boot and ski room too store your gear after a days skiing...fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciated the scottish hospitality.I agree jerry is a top man and he is delighted that someone has finally recognised this fact.All your kind comments will mean alot to my team who take great pride in their work.I hope you visit us again soon.Nigel Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

I can really recommend this hotel. On my arrival I was treated with much respect and made to feel welcome (not just a number) as you get in some hotels. The staff were friendly, helpful and very courteous at all times. The food was excellent, and the dining room had a very relaxing atmosphere. My room was clean and tidy with tea/coffee making facilities supplied in my room plus biscuits to enjoy after a long days drive. All in all, a VERY pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thorn-cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Thank you so much for your encouraging review,i am delighted that you felt at home during your stay with us.My team will be delighted with your review of the service and hospitality.I look forward to welcoming you back to crianlarich in the future.
Kind Regards Nigel Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2010

From the moment of calling up the hotel to book the staff went out of their way to make your time with enjoyable. We went to snowboard at the nearby Glencoe moutain (25mins away) and were told we were entitiled to a ski special of only £20pp including breakfast and a free ride to and from the resort. Then when I told the manager on duty (Tom) that we may be arriving late he said he could have the chef prepare some food for our arrival (at 10pm) as the kitchen would be closed. He even called to take an order around 8.30pm.

Once at the hotel parking was a breeze and the room did not disappointment - it was large and the bathroom modern. The stafff were all very friendly and really added something to the weekend. It is a shame that the hotel was quiet because the big dining room with roaring fires would make a great place for apres ski ...

So hopefully more people will start using this great hotel and its location for skiing Glencoe then with more guests to share your mountain tales with it really will have everything !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topgrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to add your comments on trip advisor.It is always gratifying when our guests acknowledge our service and pick up on the small details.The apres ski has improved with a full bar in the evenings and i always overhear the mountain tales.
Nigel Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

We have just come back from staying at this hotel, purpose was to ski at Glencoe. Stayed 4 nights but only paid for 3 nights as we had a good deal. paid £120 in total for 2 adults 4 nights B & B. The food was of a high standard and plentiful, I couldn't eat it all and that's saying something for me. EVERY single member of staff was extremely pleasant and helpfull, some even going to lenghts of assisting us personally which was beyond their duties. You even get free transfer to the Glencoe ski resort. Fantastic and we are contemplating going back in about 8 weeks time if snow is still available for skiing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tatty644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
Thank you so much for writing your review,we are constantly striving to improve our standards of service and hospitality and your comments are warmly welcomed by the team at the hotel.I hope that you do visit us again.

Nigel Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

My friend and I booked a last minute snowboarding holiday (on xmas day) and booked a room here using laterooms.com
The hotel was in a great location, surrounded by snowy hills and not far from Glencoe.
The staff were hugely helpful and accommodating in the light of a booking error created by laterooms.com. David the manager was especially kind and friendly when rectifying the problem that was created by laterooms booking.
the room was nice with plenty of room and the hotel was clean and warm throughout. the menu was good and food was cooked well. the bar had a nice selection of single malts. the hotel had a drying room for the wet snowboarding gear which was a bonus!
the only thing i would suggest to improve was the WiFi coverage. considering there was no O2 reception anywhere in the entire village, WiFi in my room would have saved a trip to the lobby to email/facebook and let people know i had arrived safely / had a good day etc..

i'd stay here again if i Glencoe has more good snow :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunBoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Thank you kindly for taking the time and effort to add your comments regarding your stay with us.My team find it gratifying to read that their contribution has been recognised.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the crianlarich hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
23.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
20.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Property: Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing