We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My friend and I booked a last minute snowboarding holiday (on xmas day) and booked a room here using laterooms.com
The hotel was in a great location, surrounded by snowy hills and not far from Glencoe.
The staff were hugely helpful and accommodating in the light of a booking error created by laterooms.com. David the manager was especially kind and friendly when rectifying the problem that was created by laterooms booking.
the room was nice with plenty of room and the hotel was clean and warm throughout. the menu was good and food was cooked well. the bar had a nice selection of single malts. the hotel had a drying room for the wet snowboarding gear which was a bonus!
the only thing i would suggest to improve was the WiFi coverage. considering there was no O2 reception anywhere in the entire village, WiFi in my room would have saved a trip to the lobby to email/facebook and let people know i had arrived safely / had a good day etc..

i'd stay here again if i Glencoe has more good snow :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunBoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2010

Thank you kindly for taking the time and effort to add your comments regarding your stay with us.My team find it gratifying to read that their contribution has been recognised.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the crianlarich hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 973 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2009

Obviously the sucess of a trip is more dependant on the weather than anything else. luckily we had amazing (magical was used on several ocassions) weather. We spent a long weekend climbing Munro's and didn't really need to use the drying room though it seemed rude not to air out our gear. The Crianlarich Hotel is very well located and if you book inadavnce cheaper than a B&B. The food is fantastic, good sized portions at a good price, the chef seems happy to accomadate requestes from the guests. They made us sandwiches so we could get on the hills as early as possible. I will be staying here again, though I would like a greater selection of ales on tap - maybe some local beer (Aviemore Brewery - Wild Cat!?)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2010

I am so pleased that you found the hotel to your satisfaction.Calum our chef will be delighted to receive your comments he is always prepared to meet the needs of our guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and crianlarich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I visited the Crianlarich Hotel with a bunch of friends in early November for a long weekend. After a long working week and journey up from London it was refreshing to be greeted with such a warm welcome from all the staff.

During our stay we had a number of meals and I thought the quality of the food was excellent. The venison stew was especially tasty and the hearty breakfast perfect prep before a good days activity.

The hotel has a really welcoming feel to it, with friendly and helpful staff, and the big log fires were perfect with a pint of the Colonsay IPA after a walk out on the mountains.

The hotel is located in stunning surroundings and was perfectly positioned for our weekend. We were able to take on some cracking Munros from the hotel and go Pike fishing in a local loch. The hotel was very helpful in organising these activities and pack lunches too.

I would definitely recommend a stay at this super little gem of a hotel in the heart of the Scottish highlands.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkpump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byrnge, Managing Director at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel,it is always extremely gratifying to receive feedback from our guests and is well received by our team at the hotel who take such pride in their work and the hotel.
I hope that you decide to visit our hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Taking advantage of a glorious November day, my husband, sister and I stopped for lunch at this great hotel. We've visited twice before this year and each time things get better. The public areas are wonderfully warm and welcoming with new furniture layouts and roaring fires that make you disinclined to move on! Our lunch was delicious - great vegetable soup - and well presented by the charmingly efficient staff. In fact, we enjoyed it all so much that we have booked for an overnight stay with members of our family just before Christmas: I have no doubt we will have a splendid time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caerurfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

The Crianlarich hotel proved to be a perfect base for me and a group of friends who were getting away from London for the weekend. We had a busy schedule of walking and fishing to attend to and the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating to us. Both were very much appreciated after a long days walking up on the munros surrounding Crianlarich. A pint of Colonsay IPA in front of the log burner really was the perfect medicine for the aches and pains picked up during the day!

I was most impressed that the hotel manager made it his business to ensure the smooth running of a days fishing on loch Awe that the hotel had organised for our party in advance of our arrival - top marks for customer service!

In summary the hotel really is a perfect base from which to indulge yourself in the amazing countryside that Crianlairch has to offer. The welcoming bar and comfortable, clean rooms are just what is required for such a stay.

Seeing as the overnight sleeper stops at Crianlarich station (c.5 minutes form the hotel) we decided to hop on the train back to London on the Sunday evening. In hindsight this was a great move as it allowed us to enjoy Sunday evening in the hotel bar before dashing across to the station as the train rolled across the viaduct, right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IHM_SWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byrnge, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2009

Thank you for placing a review,we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel.Your comments are most valuable to us.We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Nigel Bird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stopped here to break the train journey to Mallaig so as to see as much as possible by daylight. It's in a beautiful spot, especially with the autumn colours.

The hotel itself was clean and comfy, especially the duvet which really was scrummy. The room was nice and the shower great. Because of the time of year the place was quiet, well it was a Sunday - they said there was only one other room taken although they'd been full on Friday and Saturday. We'd arrived about 9 but the chef was still there and was happy to cook our dinner which was great.

The only thing that tainted the stay wad the rude and miserable waitress, who would be sacked if it were our hotel. That aside, we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byrnge, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to place your review,it is most important to us learn our guests comments on our standards of service and hospitality.I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would apologise for the experience with one of our team members and this has been acted upon.I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

My second visit to The Crianlarich, but first time I had stayed. I was up with some friends to try and nail a couple of the local munros. The warm welcome from both the staff and log fires was ideal after the 90minute drive up from Edinburgh after work on the Friday. The rooms were more than adequate, and beds surprisingly comfortable. A decent breakfast in the morning, my porridge was spot on. While we had our own transport to get us to the lay-by for the climb, the manager of the hotel offered to drop us off and pick us up in the hotel pick-up. A nice touch. Post-walk, the piping hot bath was a life-saver. The hotel's drying room by the reception for all our wet gear also made things very easy for us. After we had got sorted, the big telly in the main room which meant we could watch the rugby from the comfort of the hotel's sofas. Of particular note to me was the excellent food. The rare steak I had on the Saturday night was just superb and cooked to perfection. Worth a second stay alone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
265 reviews
20.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range: $61 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing