We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Expensive Drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I only stopped for a drink so I cannot comment on Hotel itself. There was no-one in attendance at the bar so I had to ring the bell to get served; the waiter appeared to be manning the bar and doing duties elsewhere. I bought 2 pints and was charged £9.90, the same drinks at the pub down the road were £7.70. Guess where my business has gone! Small wonder the place was empty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Good Morning
Thank you for your feedback. We use all feedback we receive to help us improve our product. If you wish to discuss your recent visit with us, please contact me on gm@crianlarich-hotel.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 974 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed one night on our way south with two small dogs. Whilst they were welcomed we did feel somewhat like outcasts having to eat on our own in a small side room. Limited menu and food very average with drink prices exorbitant! Bedroom small and dated - but then so are most older Scottish hotels. Suffocatingly hot despite being given a fan - I think this room was over the kitchen adding to the heat. Slept badly due to this. En-suite accessed by small cupboard like doors - good job we are small people! Upside was the staff who were all very attentive and friendly and doing their best with a very dated facility. Would have expected better from a Best Western.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlin010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Good Morning

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit with us.
Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

After reading other reviews we were a little disappointed. We were with a party so perhaps we did not get the usual menu but the food was a little bland - very ordinary and salads served with no dressing! We ate in the conservatory not the large dining room and the service was rather slow. They did not appear to have enough staff on to cope with a large party although those serving did try their best.

We swapped rooms with another couple to get a room with a shower but even that was a strange set up! Shower controls at one end of the bath and then the shower pipe had to be stretch along the bath to hang the shower head at the other end! (I don't find it easy climbing in and out of a high bath so this was far from ideal).

The weather was wonderful but the room had no air conditioning and only a small window which could not be left open due to the midges and the traffic noise. We did not find it easy to sleep in the very warm room.

There is very little to see in Crianlarich and the roads through are very busy so it is not ideal for taking a walk in an evening.

However the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The downstairs rooms were very pleasant and comfortable

Room Tip: The rooms do seem to be in need of refurbishment. If required perhaps it is best to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNYScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Good Morning
Thank you for your comments. We use all feedback we receive to help us improve our product. The particular room you stayed in during your recent visit will be getting an improved shower fitted during the coming weeks.
If you would like o discuss your recent stay with us please e-mail me at gm@crianlarich-hotel.co.uk where I will be delighted to discuss with you your stay.

Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A convenient location with spacious rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the helpful staff ensured a comfortable and pleasant stay. The restaurant served good food with service to match. A typical buffet breakfast but good. I should mention the staff who were very obliging and helpful to all the needs of our party.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Rosie-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Good Morning
Thank you for your kind comments, The team and I delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.
We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Joasn Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and 3 year old. Previous hotel wasn't child friendly. This hotel however was brilliant with my son, they even tried to buy chocolate spread in for his breakfast. One waitress in particular made us feel at home and my son adored her. Andy the food manager was excellent too. Food was lovely, atmosphere was great and would definitely go again. Thanks everyone for making the stay at your hotel enjoyable. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank karwalk200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Good Morning
Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback on your recent stay.The team are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here whilst travelling through Scotland. We paid for a king sized room and it was indeed a very good, large room. It was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The views over the mountains were lovely. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with a full range of cooked items, plus fruit, toast and yoghurts. The restaurant served pizzas as well as more traditional main dishes. Our fish was rather on the small size for the price paid and we were disappointed with the lack of choice of vegetarian food. The hotel is on a busy main road so we were worried we would be disturbed during the night but this was not so. Indeed kit was a quiet, peaceful night both within and outside the hotel. Staff were all very friendly and the place had a welcoming atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again if travelling in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Good Morning
Thank you for your kind comments, The chefs are currently looking at the vegetarian options we offer in order to improve selection.
The team and myself are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Joan Peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Not a good place to stay. The room was very dirty, stained sheets, stained carpet. The bathroom needed to be power washed. Overall I just wanted to check out and leave. We did eat in the hotel restaurant and they had just started making their own homemade pizza. We gave it a try and it was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your feedback, It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like the opportunity to discuss with you the various issues that you mention in your review.
Please e-mail me gm@crianlarich-hotel.co.uk .
In the meantime I will discuss your comments with my team.

Kind regards
Joan peden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
265 reviews
20.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range: $62 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing