We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good location for walking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great value and good location for walking”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for the weekend,great value ane we really enjoyed our stay. Helpful staff in particular Jason a great asset to the hotel. Good location to do some walking and we were lucky with the lovely weather.
Will be back next season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elamcg150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good Evening
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us an look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Joan peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    287
    141
    51
    34
See reviews for
152
450
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is very dated, but adequate for its needs. The room was comfortable and beds comfy. It's a great location with easy access to other places. However, there is not a lot to see or do in the immediate surrounding area of this hotel. Breakfast was ok. We purchased this on a deal, I wouldn't have been pleased if we had paid full price!!

Room Tip: Room 214 has a bath but no shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gayella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed tour stay with us and hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at the Crianlarich Hotel in 2011 and again in 2013. After a white knuckle drive up the A82, it was nice to stop and relax. Stayed in a larger room this time (last time was very last minute). Had dinner/late lunch on arrival in excellent dining room. Had full breakfast next morning. Had a couple of nice walk-abouts while there this time. If you stay, allow time for some walking in the area. Also - watch out for the railroad underpass right before the hotel if you are driving. Staff was friendly as per last visit.

Room Tip: Get a bigger room. Small room in 2011 was ok. Bigger room in 2013 better. NOTE - It is not like an A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Good Afternoon
Thank you for again taking the time to let us know about your recent visit, it is always encouraging when we get return guests who enjoyed their time with us. I have passed your comments on to the team members who will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel. I would call it slightly quaint in it's overall appearance, the room we had was perfectly adequate although the bathroom ceiling did appear to have mildew all over it, which we pointed out to the Reception staff as we left. Reception was a desk in the entrance and the reception staff we saw were polite and helpful, although sometimes you had to go and find them. Breakfast was buffet, plenty of food available but I was surprised that you weren't approached by the several staff as to tea or coffee requirements. We dined both evening in the restaurant, the food was well prepared and tasty although I didn't feel too comfortable with the moth eaten stuffed animals dotted around with their glazed glances, they need to be changed I would think. Over all it was a good 2 nights, and was convenient for our requirements at the time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your kind comments, the team and myself are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us .

Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Upon arrival I thought the reception area was very nice although there was not another person to be seen anywhere except the receptionist.

Having booked a single room I found the room to be relatively large with a single bed in it. The Guest Services book stated the whole hotel had been refurbished relatively recently - however I think they forgot to do the rooms. Sitting on the small uncomfortable chair I felt the whole room looked like it was from the set of Fawlty towers - from the wood panelling, to the 1970's worn carpet, to the tiny 14 inch 1980's TV etc...I then found the "bathroom" to be in a cupboard that I thought was a wardrobe. It was tiny - there was just space for a toilet and shower cubicle and you had to stand with your legs either side of the toilet to open the shower door - a very bizarre design.

As the hotel is on the corner of the A82 junction there is a lot of road noise and the double glazed window didn't keep the noise out - although it quietened down between 9 it got going again at 5am - something to bear in mind if you want peace and quiet.

Breakfast was a buffet and was ok although the hot food was poor quality. There were 3 waitresses helping out but they stood around doing nothing until a customer had left before clearing the table. Why don't they clear the tables as they went along to avoid lots of dirty plates piling up?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Good Afternoon
Thank you for your feedback, We are in the process of a refurbishment programme which will mean we have updated all our bedrooms and soft furnishings, I have shared your feedback with all the team members in order to address the various comments you addressed regarding service. I would hope that in the future should you stay with us again you would see marked improvement.

Kind Regards
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Lovely hotel fits in with the area. Friendly and helpful staff.
Fantastic food, breakfast was very nice. Basic but very nice rooms, Clean and very comfy beds.
Loved the dinning area, open fires and candle light tables .Plenty areas through out the hotel and outside to sit and have a drink and chat


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely hotel and location, can't wait to go back. The staff are very friendly and are always on hand to offer help. It was really good that I could take my little dog as well. The scenery was absolutely breath taking. The locals made the trip memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your feedback, the team are delighted you all enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
407 reviews
20.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Property: Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing